Shrimp Scampi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I did not care for this. Maybe I did something wrong??? Everyone else seemed to like it.... The recipe called for WAY TOO MANY bread crumbs. The shrimp turned out "doughy" (from too many bread crumbs). Also thought the lemon and wine mixture was too overpowering and the pasta was very dry. I made this dish for friends, and luckily was able to salvage it (my bf and I shook off the bread crumbs as best we could, stuck the shrimp on skewers and grilled them). My bf thought that the breadcrumbs were odd (shrimp de joghne is prepared with breadcrumbs, not scampi). This recipe is not for me. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This recipe was delicious but I honestly did a lot of tweaking to get it to our liking. I used eight garlic cloves instead of five. I omitted the breadcrumbs and the entire oven process. Instead, I cooked the shrimp in the sauce for five minutes and then removed them from the heat. I used additional butter at the end instead of olive oil, and I employed Lidia Bastianich's tip of cooking the pasta in the sauce for the last minute or two. (There was not enough sauce leftover for bread dipping, but I could have added some pasta water to the sauce.) When I tasted the sauce by itself, I thought the lemon and wine too overpowering, but once the dish was put together and sprinkled with grated romano cheese, it really was very good. I liked this recipe because it was quick for a weeknight dinner, but I will be trying other scampi recipes before making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lazar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was good but,nothing special though. Would probably look for another recipe just to try and compare before making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
not bad, but needs some spice--oregano, basil, red pepper flakes-would add about 10 seconds to the prep time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I had never made (or eaten) shrimp scampi before but I made this for my mom's birthday since it's her favorite. Everyone enjoyed it. Not knowing what to compare it to I would say that I wish there was a little bit of sauce in the scampi pan to spoon over the pasta (or dip bread in). Overall I thought it was good. My boyfriend who thought he was going to hate it said it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Yummers! This was really good. I may have put a little too much garlic in mine but it was still good. I also used this for catfish and it came out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zfamily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I used rice vinegar instead of white wine and it was still an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I gave this a three stars becase it was good But the bread crumbs made it so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
There was not much flavor at all. I did as others suggested and added white wine, while cutting down on the broth..it was just bland. I even added chicken breast to give it a little something, but it did no good. I will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This dish was delicous. It was quick and easy to prepare, which was great after a long day of work. I did tweak the recipe a little bit. Instead of using the bread crumbs, I used a Tbsp. of corn starch mixed with a Tbsp. of water. Mixing in slowly, the sauce thickened to a creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States