Shrimp Scampi Cheesecake Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I made these in the prebaked fillo cups for two Christmas parties. At the one they ate every single morsel, but no comments. (Lots of people not a lot of food.) At the other party, ladies only, lots of food, lots of these leftover and still no comments about this recipe. I wasn't crazy about them either. Later I tried some of the unbaked leftovers (without the fillo cups) I had frozen as a dip. Weird eggy quiche like consistancy, although good flavor. I was not going to give up on this recipe, and I personally am not crazy about fillo and didn't want to use the puff pastry cups, so I took egg roll skins and cut them in quarters. Layered two squares opposite each in a flower pattern and put them in mini muffin tins. What a difference this "cheesecake" is in these. Very good and pretty this way. I felt the fillo took away from the taste - not enough filling to dough ratio and the egg roll wrappers just gave it a nice cup to be in with a little crunch with the "petals" sticking out the top. Baked at 350 for 10 minutes an they browned up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
Don't let the "cheesecake" title keep you away!! This is great. I used the little phylo pastry cups for a party, and was able to make about 100. Everyone loved them, very elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Absolutely decadent and honestly far easier than anyone would ever believe. I used the phyllo cups several other people recommended instead of puff pastry. Garnished with fresh snipped chives and thyme. I have also used the filling as a baked dip if you don't want to deal with the hassel of filling nearly a 100 of these. Just buy some very nice crackers or toasts instead to enjoy these delightful bites instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Oh. My. Goodness. Since I was taking these to a party, I did as other reviewers suggested and used mini phyllo cups to make 60 appetizers. (This is rather expensive to make because of the cheese and shrimp, so I skimped on the number of cups.) The phyllo dough I bought was already cooked, so I simply heated them with the filling in the oven for about 10 minutes. I still had plenty of filling left over for a cracker spread, but I should have bought more cups- it was hard enough keeping ourselves from eating them before we got there! If you've been looking for a rave-worthy recipe that's always the first to go at a gathering, this is it. Mine were gone in 20 minutes! Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I thought this was a very rich recipe, but I loved it. This recipe makes A LOT, but I did freeze the batter and it tasted fine. I'm thinking you could probably cut the recipe in half. I used 4 pkgs mini phyllo cups for half the recipe and froze the rest and used as a hot dip with crackers when I needed it. I also don't think you need 16 oz. of Gouda. I believe I only used half of that and I couldn't find smoked. I did not used the onions or salt. The second time I made it I used a pound of shimp to half the batter recipe. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
My family LOVED these. Not only was it easy to make, it freezes really well. It does cost a bit more than other appetizers - I only make it once a year - plus, family & friends rave about it. It is always a hit at family holiday functions. I too used the pre-cooked phyllo dough and just filled them up and heated them up in the over. It has become a family favorite for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSHELLZ2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was a great find, however I am altering it the next time I make it. There is WAY to much cheese for the amount of shrimp. I am going to do the following: add another pound of shrimp, add a couple cans of real lump crab, add another onion and carmalize them, add a little more garlic, use one smoked gouda and one regular, and call this Shrimp Scampi Rangoon. I made this for Thanksgiving and put them in the phyllo shells I made in the mini muffin pans. I made 4 dozen and still have half of the mixture left. I used the other half of the mixture the next day. I poured it in a glass dish and baked it. I got a lot of compliments on both and several people asked for the recipe. I dont think there is enough meat in it. When I was filling my phyllo cups I was trying to put a shrimp peice in each cup and I found myself digging around in the mixture looking for them. All in all this was good. It does make a ton, but it saves well in the fridge. Looking forward to the next time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValleyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I make this in the small phyllo cups and always a HUGE hit! It makes a lot and freezes wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
These are excellent! Great party appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLDRA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These were the best appetizer I've ever made! I did cut the recipe in half except for the shrimp. People couldn't stop eating them and they were all gone before I knew it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States