Shrimp Scampi Cheesecake Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Made this appetizer last night for NYE party. It was fabulous....everyone loved it and ate every last one. I followed some other reviews and cut the recipe in half. I used individual mini phyllo tart cups (60 total). I prepared the mix prior to the party and upon arriving, I filled the mini tarts, placed on cookie sheet, sprinkled with chopped chives and baked for 10 minutes at 350 degrees. Initially I was concerned about the consistency of the mix...it seemed runny, but baking melted everything together and they came out perfectly. Wonderful smokey flavor from the gouda. I am not a great cook and I don't enjoy being in the kitchen: this recipe however was very simple to make and I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
1st this recipe has the worst name, after I got over that and check out the ingredients I was intriqued. After reading all the glowing reviews I found it a must! I made it just as written. But... I found it very disapointing. My guests were not very interested either and they were all eaters. It just isn't that special. And it makes SO much, I had tons lefover. Not impressed, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Excellent! I used the large and small pre-made crusts and they came out perfectly. I used half n'half instead of cream since the store was out (holiday) and it seemed to work fine. I set my oven to 375 for 25 minutes. I also scaled down the recipe and it definitely makes at least twice as much than the recipe scale says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeePatience

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Good stuff, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
i made this today for our work potluck. i only use half of the recipe and also put it on mini phyllo shells. i think it made about 60 shells like the other review said. i didn't have chives so i use green onion and put it on b4 baking. it turn out wonderful. Everybody at work who wasn't affaird of shrimps love it and asking for recipe. Now i'm one of the most popular person at work thanks to this recipe hahahah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZAHIRU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was good but the smoky taste was overpowering, I would recommend using a non-smoked gouda unless you really like a smoky flavour. Otherwise it was really rich and yummy, I used mini tart shells because I couldn't find phyllo ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is so awesome! I don't understand why its not on the front page. It taste just like store bought. FABULOUS!!! I'm making my second batch! Can't get enough of that wonderful flavor. KUDOS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I finally got around to making this recipe the other night - yum! I would agree with other posters that if you are making bite-sized appetizers, this makes a LOT (1/2 recipe made more than 60 for me in the small phyllo cups). My only change would be to either mix in a few chives or sprinkle before baking - they just fell off the top of the finished appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I don't quite know what to think. I took the advice of someone else and tried to turn it into a hot dip, but it came out more like a souffle. It was okay, just not what I was expecting. Next time I try to use it as a dip, I'll make it without the eggs. It has potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Absolutely decadent and honestly far easier than anyone would ever believe. I used the phyllo cups several other people recommended instead of puff pastry. Garnished with fresh snipped chives and thyme. I have also used the filling as a baked dip if you don't want to deal with the hassel of filling nearly a 100 of these. Just buy some very nice crackers or toasts instead to enjoy these delightful bites instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States