Shrimp, Sausage, and Fish Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Love the taste! My lid did NOT fit tightly, and I ended up having to add 3 1/2 Cups of water before the rice finished. As well, I used Jasmine rice; I'm not enough of a cook to know if that was the problem. However, water is easy, and the taste was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Dresp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Fantastic flavor. My husband loved it, of course, he caught the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I'm not sure what I did wrong or if we are just not fans, but this didn't work well at all. I followed the recipe exactly, but the rice was crunchy no matter how long I cooked it, and the only flavors we really tasted were the cajun spices. No flavor at all when you bit into the shrimp or cod. Not completely knocking the recipe, it just didn't work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This was wonderful straight from the pan but the leftovers the next day were amazing. I used chorizo as that is what I had in and threw in cubed white fish, squid, prawns and muscles 10 minutes before the end of cooking. Cannot recommend this recipe enough, many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
My family had a favorite recipe for jambalaya that we used for years but it was very labor intensive, requiring marinading the shrimp overnight. I recently hosted a special birthday party for ten guests so I doubled the recipe, and it was more than enough when served with artisan bread and a simple salad. I substituted pepperoni for the sausage because I prefer the flavor, and it is what my original recipe called for. I used the whole pepperoni stick (as opposed to the thin pre-sliced kind) and sliced it thickly. It added a nice kick to the recipe. I also used bay scallops in lieu of the cod because the guest of honor did not care for fish. The scallops were small and took only about five minutes to cook through. I also precooked the shrimp as I purchased two different kinds and I was uncertain that they would cook evenly. This turned out to be a good thing because I brought the shrimp to room temperature and added it to the finished product, only allowing it to heat through before serving. This resulted in the most tender shrimp... too often shrimp are overcooked and that makes them tough. Precooking the shrimp to perfection also permitted me better control over my serving time. Four of my guests had never had jambalaya before and raved about it. Everyone had seconds and there were still leftovers so it serves a very generous amount. I will never cook my original recipe again. This is my new go to with the modifications I outlined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I almost followed the recipe exactly. I omitted the celery, because I don't like it and used extra long grain white rice. I ended up having to add an additional cup of broth, because of the larger grain- no biggie. My husband loves it and is requesting it is added to the dinner rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
So good! Made it with my family one night, now it's a tradition. Costco sells a shellfish variety pack that we like to add. Mmmmmm mmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious recipe. It is now on our current dinner cycle and the kids LOVE it. My son hates veggies, but he eats this up like it's McDonald's! Delicious and nutritious. I can't thank you enough for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I have 3 teenage boys and one teenage girl and a husband who doesn't like veggies. But this recipe was a huge hit, fed the ravenous appetites of the kids and my husband even liked it, he picked out the onions and tomatoes. We had a lot left over too and it is a very tasty leftover. Not to spicy just enough heat. Will definitely be on the menu again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great dish. Makes a ton of food and freezes well. I didn't find andouille so I used spicy Italian pork sausage instead - turned out great. I used langoustine tails instead of shrimp because that's what I found freshest at the store. Cod isn't my favorite fish so I might skip it next time and focus on the sausage/shrimp combo. Also, I had to add almost two cups of water before adding the fish and seafood...it was drying out too fast and the rice got a little too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Perry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States