Shrimp, Sausage, and Fish Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very Good... This was very simple and so tastey. I made it just as the recipe states, except I used long grain rice. NOTE: Be careful after adding the rice and waiting 30-45 minutes, mine started to stick to the bottom. A Dutch-oven might be a better method of cooking if you don't have a very thick bottom pot. I added some heat to it just before eating and it was even better (My own preference) my wife and daughter don't like the hot spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pthor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Great recipe. Do the prepping work ahead of time and the recipe will come together easily. I made it exactly as the recipe calls for. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missee58
Photo by SugarDuJour
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I wanted to make this as written because it didn't have many reviews, but looked like a good recipe. It was very good! I did use brown rice, so I had to add another 1/2 cup of broth. I chose to wait and put the sausage back in with the shrimp, and I kept it covered the entire time, just because the rice I have takes longer to cook. I also added another 1/2 teaspoon of cajun seasoning because I like the heat, but other than that I followed the recipe. I really liked that it almost had a creaminess to it, and I served it with buttermilk cornbread muffins from this site. Don't let the list of ingredients fool you - this was super easy and didn't take as long as it states. I will definitely make this again, Thanks Baron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
For Elysia & Dominick; Not sure why you ran out of broth. Did you drain the tomatoes before you added them as I do not. Glad you liked the recipe. Some rice takes more liquid than others, still, it sounds like you had a significant problem but did a good job to work around it. I always have extra broth available when I make this dish as sometimes I need to add some. Thanks for trying the dish. Baron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Just a few suggestions to improve the dish a little: You shouldn't need to add a fat to saute the sausage as it already has enough. I prefer a pure pork smoked sausage for this dish, but recognize that if you are not in south Louisiana, it may be difficult to obtain. Try an independent meat market and you may get lucky. I highly recommend stirring the raw rice in before adding your liquid--stir until every grain is coated with the oil from cooking the meats and seasonings; this will make the rice less sticky in the finished product. It is at this stage I would add in any seafood so that those flavors can mingle before the rice gets completely cooked. (After cooking rice for 25-30 minutes, there's no way you will get anything to "boil" again as stated in step 8.) Next, even "red" or Creole jambalaya is not usually this red; I have never heard of using tomato paste in place of tomatoes in jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is a fantastic jambalaya recipe. I used seafood broth instead of chicken broth. Ironically, the fresh Atlantic Cod, although "optional", was my favorite part - it was chewy and flaky and chunky and absorbed the flavor. The order in which this is prepared is perfect. A dash of red pepper flakes certainly doesn'y hurt, and if you prefer cilantro over parsley that's good too! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
My family has made this twice, and both times it has been fabulously tasty. We made it once with kielbasa instead of andouille, and it was just as good, with a slightly milder but yummy flavor that my small sons appreciated. Thanks for the recipe! (Oh, and try with seafood broth instead of chicken broth! Enhances the seafood flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
So good it made me cry tears of joy. Seriously though, do the prep work before hand and you will save lots of time. I followed the recipe exactly as described (minus the diced tomatoes) and it came out perfect. The cod kind of disappeared and was absorbed into the jambalaya. I recommend jumbo shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Wow! This was to die for!!! I made it extra spicy with extra chili powder, used brown rice, and a little less butter (this has so much flavor I didn't need the extra calories for the taste). My husband and I absolutely LOVED this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States