Shrimp Red Thai Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This was definitely excellent! The one suggestion I have is to add vegetables (peppers, onions, etc) to soak up some of the extra sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
wonderful all together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
My husband and I love Thai food. This was wonderful, but pretty spicy, so be warned. You can use any curry paste (it comes in red, yellow, green, panang and other varietis); they are available at a Thai market. I served this with lime wedges, jasmine rice and fresh chopped cilatro. You can also add pineapple chunks and green onion to the rice. If you add chicken broth, chopped green onions, juice of half a lime, and a can of corn (drained) this makes a great soup, also served over jasmine rice with fresh cilantro. You can use shrimp or chicken very thinly sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
If you like Thai food, this is a great recipe. I made it twice, once with regular coconut milk and once with "Lite" coconut milk. I think the taste is better with the "Lite". I think it seems too "heavy" with the regular. Another bonus is the fact you shave two thirds of the calories and fat off by using the "Lite".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This was really good! The red curry paste was hard to find in the store but worth it. Nice change from the usual yellow curry. Used the fish sauce with the picture of a squid on the label. Next time will use even larger shrimp and throw in some sliced carrots and chopped green pepper and onion before adding the shrimp. This time I only added white parts of green oninons, chopped. THis was so delicious over freshly cooked jasmine rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Outstanding taste! Be careful, though, it's VERY hot. Next time I'll half the recipe for the sauce, because we had too much left over for my husband and me. Thanks for such a great recipe. I felt like I was eating at a Thai restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I used light coconut milk and a little cornstarch to thicken. I also didn't have a red chili pepper so used 1 tsp. of ground red pepper. This was served with jasmine rice at a party and there were requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This is a nice simple, basic recipe that leaves room for lots of creativity. Just the kind of recipe I love. I used jalepeno peppers instead of chili, and also added cilantro and ginger along with other veggies. I also added lime juice and pineapple chunks when finished cooking. I agree with others and suggest you start with 2 tsp of red curry paste and then adjust for taste. The sauce is soupy until you add the rice to it and allow the rice to absorb the liquid, which it will do. I used chicken stock to cook rice then added rice to coconut milk and continued simmering another 5 minutes. The beauty of this recipe is you can add whatever veggies and other spices you want or have on hand, or just leave it simple. You can even use frozen veggies too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I know this sounds weird, but, add 2 large julienned, unpeeled, seeded cucumbers during the last 5 minutes of cooking. AND 10 - 15 Basil leaves. Also substitute GREEN for RED curry. AN EXCELLANT DISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by By the Lake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Alabama, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I used chicken instead of shrimp, soy sauce in place of fish sauce, and green curry paste, which is a little hotter than red. It was delicious and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States