Shrimp Red Thai Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
wonderful all together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
My husband and I love Thai food. This was wonderful, but pretty spicy, so be warned. You can use any curry paste (it comes in red, yellow, green, panang and other varietis); they are available at a Thai market. I served this with lime wedges, jasmine rice and fresh chopped cilatro. You can also add pineapple chunks and green onion to the rice. If you add chicken broth, chopped green onions, juice of half a lime, and a can of corn (drained) this makes a great soup, also served over jasmine rice with fresh cilantro. You can use shrimp or chicken very thinly sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This was definitely excellent! The one suggestion I have is to add vegetables (peppers, onions, etc) to soak up some of the extra sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
If you like Thai food, this is a great recipe. I made it twice, once with regular coconut milk and once with "Lite" coconut milk. I think the taste is better with the "Lite". I think it seems too "heavy" with the regular. Another bonus is the fact you shave two thirds of the calories and fat off by using the "Lite".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This was really good! The red curry paste was hard to find in the store but worth it. Nice change from the usual yellow curry. Used the fish sauce with the picture of a squid on the label. Next time will use even larger shrimp and throw in some sliced carrots and chopped green pepper and onion before adding the shrimp. This time I only added white parts of green oninons, chopped. THis was so delicious over freshly cooked jasmine rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Outstanding taste! Be careful, though, it's VERY hot. Next time I'll half the recipe for the sauce, because we had too much left over for my husband and me. Thanks for such a great recipe. I felt like I was eating at a Thai restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
BLAND!!!!! After reading the rave reviews about this recipie I couldn't believe how bad this tasted. There was barely any flavor or spice in the sauce. I added asparagus, yellow squash and broccoli and used lite coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
This was very tasty and easy, but HOT! I had to go to two supermarkets to find the red curry paste, but I'm glad I found it. Publix supermarket carries it, if you live in an area where that chain exists. I added yellow and green bell pepper, would probably add more veggies next time. I'll also reduce the red curry paste, probably by half. I noticed a recipe on the bottle called for 1 T red curry paste to 1 can coconut milk, while this calls for double that amount! Overall, a great recipe and a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Good recipe, however I guess I used too much fish sauce because it came out salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
The 2 cans of coconut milk that the recipe called for was way too much. Beware of how much coconut milk you use. Secondly, the one chili pepper I added made the recipe flaming hot and practically impossible to eat. I ended up having to dilute the recipe with a lot of water. Even with all the added water, it was too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States