Shrimp Red Thai Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Bland, but qick. I've found, when using peppers, one can never tell the spiciness of the dish until tasted. Therefore, if you you do not care for a lot of heat, start with half the amount called for. For my family we start with the amount called for and go up from there!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountain Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Using other reviewers' suggestions, I added vegetables. I omitted the fresh red chili pepper because it seemed like it would make the dish too spicy. I used 1 can of coconut milk, 2 tbsp. red Thai curry paste, 1 tbsp. fish sauce, 1 lb. medium raw shrimp. I started brown rice in the rice cooker, then began chopping and slicing: 1 black bell pepper, 2 small carrots, 2 celery stalks, 1 head broccoli, 1 inch piece of ginger (grated), celery leaves, 3 green onions, and 2 small cans mushrooms. Once the liquid mixture became hot, I let the broccoli cook by itself for a few minutes before adding the shrimp and other vegetables to the mixture. When I removed the wok from heat, I added coursely chopped pineapple and cucumber, along with a splash of lime juice, and served the mixture over brown rice. The flavor is mild, not the least bit spicy, and pleasing. For a round-2 meal, I may add chicken broth to turn it into a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah E Anthony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This has a great taste, but is a bit bland. I added veggies (zucchini, onions and red pepper) as well as ginger, cilantro and salt. I'm excited to taste it tomorrow - I hope other reviewers are correct that it tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Great recipe the only thing I would add is 1 Tbs Lemon Juice(or 3 Kaffir leaves if you can find them) and 2 Tbs Peanut sauce(or 3 Tbs Peanut Butter works well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
added more curry, onions, some cut up broccoli stalk for crunch, garlic.. very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I added yellow and red sweet peppers and plenty of fresh lime juice and fresh cilantro. The recipe calls for too much coconut milk in my opinion. It wasn't very good. I wouldn't make this recipe again. I'm sure there are better coconut shrimp curry recipes than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Thank you MitchnSteve - awesome basic recipe. I tweaked mine a bit per some reviews. My husband and I love thai food. I got 5 stars - so I am passing it along!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
It was sooo yummy! Im a huge fan of curry and my family loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momma_s
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is a good base for this dish, but I too changed to suit my tastes... I used lite coconut milk, but will use regular from now on. It imparts a thicker texture and flavor than the lite version. I also used sweet red and yellow peppers, and added bamboo shoots and fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
easy, good recipe. definitely didn't think it was too hot! i actually added a bit more red curry paste. i also agree that it was missing something, for a more complex flavor. i added veggies to this to soak up some sauce. overall really tasty, just needs a bit of something to jazz it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States