Shrimp Red Thai Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
If you like Thai food, this is a great recipe. I made it twice, once with regular coconut milk and once with "Lite" coconut milk. I think the taste is better with the "Lite". I think it seems too "heavy" with the regular. Another bonus is the fact you shave two thirds of the calories and fat off by using the "Lite".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Hubby and I are big fans of curry. Admittedly we like more "complex" flavours, so I added ginger, cilantro, lemongrass and freshly squeezed lime juice. However...this is really quick, easy and really quite flavorful. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
My husband and I love Thai food. This was wonderful, but pretty spicy, so be warned. You can use any curry paste (it comes in red, yellow, green, panang and other varietis); they are available at a Thai market. I served this with lime wedges, jasmine rice and fresh chopped cilatro. You can also add pineapple chunks and green onion to the rice. If you add chicken broth, chopped green onions, juice of half a lime, and a can of corn (drained) this makes a great soup, also served over jasmine rice with fresh cilantro. You can use shrimp or chicken very thinly sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This was definitely excellent! The one suggestion I have is to add vegetables (peppers, onions, etc) to soak up some of the extra sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This is a nice simple, basic recipe that leaves room for lots of creativity. Just the kind of recipe I love. I used jalepeno peppers instead of chili, and also added cilantro and ginger along with other veggies. I also added lime juice and pineapple chunks when finished cooking. I agree with others and suggest you start with 2 tsp of red curry paste and then adjust for taste. The sauce is soupy until you add the rice to it and allow the rice to absorb the liquid, which it will do. I used chicken stock to cook rice then added rice to coconut milk and continued simmering another 5 minutes. The beauty of this recipe is you can add whatever veggies and other spices you want or have on hand, or just leave it simple. You can even use frozen veggies too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
The 2 cans of coconut milk that the recipe called for was way too much. Beware of how much coconut milk you use. Secondly, the one chili pepper I added made the recipe flaming hot and practically impossible to eat. I ended up having to dilute the recipe with a lot of water. Even with all the added water, it was too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I know this sounds weird, but, add 2 large julienned, unpeeled, seeded cucumbers during the last 5 minutes of cooking. AND 10 - 15 Basil leaves. Also substitute GREEN for RED curry. AN EXCELLANT DISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by By the Lake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Alabama, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
This basic recipe is kind of bland - add 1/2 cup of condenced chicken or vegetable broth and add two cups of fresh veggies also makes this much better (try red bell peppers, carrots, broccoli, mushrooms).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
BLAND!!!!! After reading the rave reviews about this recipie I couldn't believe how bad this tasted. There was barely any flavor or spice in the sauce. I added asparagus, yellow squash and broccoli and used lite coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Outstanding taste! Be careful, though, it's VERY hot. Next time I'll half the recipe for the sauce, because we had too much left over for my husband and me. Thanks for such a great recipe. I felt like I was eating at a Thai restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States