Shrimp Red Thai Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I have a ton of salmon in my freezer and am always looking for a new recipe. I cooked salmon filets on the stove, then broke the pieces up and added to the curry sauce. I also added some ginger to my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This was a good recipe, but I was dismayed at the lack of veggies. Prior to putting the coconut milk in, I diced half an onion, 2 cloves garlic, 3/4 of a package of mushrooms I chopped and cooked them in the fish sauce (be careful with that stuff it's potent). Also added half a bag of bean sprouts and some canned bamboo shoots at the same time as the shrimp. Made the recipe much better. Without alterations-its a 3 star recipe, but it can very easily be 5 stars through a little creativity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tsubaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I have added 2more spoons of thai paste and fish sauce, vegetables and delicious !!! Recommended !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
This was so easy and tasted delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I used chicken instead of shrimp, soy sauce in place of fish sauce, and green curry paste, which is a little hotter than red. It was delicious and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I know this sounds weird, but, add 2 large julienned, unpeeled, seeded cucumbers during the last 5 minutes of cooking. AND 10 - 15 Basil leaves. Also substitute GREEN for RED curry. AN EXCELLANT DISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by By the Lake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Alabama, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This is a nice simple, basic recipe that leaves room for lots of creativity. Just the kind of recipe I love. I used jalepeno peppers instead of chili, and also added cilantro and ginger along with other veggies. I also added lime juice and pineapple chunks when finished cooking. I agree with others and suggest you start with 2 tsp of red curry paste and then adjust for taste. The sauce is soupy until you add the rice to it and allow the rice to absorb the liquid, which it will do. I used chicken stock to cook rice then added rice to coconut milk and continued simmering another 5 minutes. The beauty of this recipe is you can add whatever veggies and other spices you want or have on hand, or just leave it simple. You can even use frozen veggies too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I was really disappointed with this recipe. I followed the instructions very carefully however added some lime and cilantro based on other feedback. The aroma of the curry was amazing however I found the flavor very bland and nothing like what you would fine in a Thai restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Extremely easy but extremely bland. I had to add more hot spices for some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
This basic recipe is kind of bland - add 1/2 cup of condenced chicken or vegetable broth and add two cups of fresh veggies also makes this much better (try red bell peppers, carrots, broccoli, mushrooms).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States