Shrimp Red Thai Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Good taste. Substituted 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes and added 3 Tbsp. flour to thicken the sauce. Served with crushed pineapple. Would add English cucumber and/or mango chunks next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Good for a very simple basic recipe! I added ginger, lemongrass, and sweet potato. I URGE everyone who is making a thai curry recipe to try adding chunks of sweet potato, it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
OMG! Simply delish! Only 4 stars as I had to alter based on other reviews. I only used one can of coconut milk, garnished with sliced green onions and basil (cilantro would have been preferable, but I didn't have any) and used my own homemade red curry paste. A perfect base for a variety of uses -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was just okay for me. As per other reviews, it was WAY too much coconut milk. Flavor was okay too. I didn't think it had much spice, but not bad. If I had spent more time doctoring it up, it probably would have been better. I did add 2 green onions, a little bit of baby corn, and some broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I used red and green peppers to give it color and body. The people I cooked it for thought it was outstanding. I even got the thumbs up from a friend who is thai. Its very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was a delicious starting point for us! We're moving in just over a week, so we're in a mad dash to clean out the fridge and cabinets--and doctoring this recipe fit the bill. We added frozen vegetables (broccoli, peppers, onions), lime juice, a bay leaf, ginger, cilantro, and a touch of brown sugar. We served it over jasmine rice (cooked in chicken broth) with slivered almonds on top. It turned out just beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Bland, but qick. I've found, when using peppers, one can never tell the spiciness of the dish until tasted. Therefore, if you you do not care for a lot of heat, start with half the amount called for. For my family we start with the amount called for and go up from there!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountain Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Using other reviewers' suggestions, I added vegetables. I omitted the fresh red chili pepper because it seemed like it would make the dish too spicy. I used 1 can of coconut milk, 2 tbsp. red Thai curry paste, 1 tbsp. fish sauce, 1 lb. medium raw shrimp. I started brown rice in the rice cooker, then began chopping and slicing: 1 black bell pepper, 2 small carrots, 2 celery stalks, 1 head broccoli, 1 inch piece of ginger (grated), celery leaves, 3 green onions, and 2 small cans mushrooms. Once the liquid mixture became hot, I let the broccoli cook by itself for a few minutes before adding the shrimp and other vegetables to the mixture. When I removed the wok from heat, I added coursely chopped pineapple and cucumber, along with a splash of lime juice, and served the mixture over brown rice. The flavor is mild, not the least bit spicy, and pleasing. For a round-2 meal, I may add chicken broth to turn it into a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This has a great taste, but is a bit bland. I added veggies (zucchini, onions and red pepper) as well as ginger, cilantro and salt. I'm excited to taste it tomorrow - I hope other reviewers are correct that it tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Great recipe the only thing I would add is 1 Tbs Lemon Juice(or 3 Kaffir leaves if you can find them) and 2 Tbs Peanut sauce(or 3 Tbs Peanut Butter works well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RickHughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States