Shrimp Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This tastes wonderful. Loved the ginger and asparagus in it. One suggestion, since the shrimp should only be cooked for a short time, saute them separately and add after adding the quinoa. I found it difficult to cook the shrimp evenly with all the other ingredients. The added reward - it is very healthy too! Thanks Diego782.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is a terrific recipe: beautifully colored, easy, and healthy (with one small change). Like another reviewer, we only used half of the shrimp required and it was still more than enough-I was thrilled because it made the recipe healthier and more economical. I also omitted the raisins because my kids dislike "cooked raisins', but I'd like to try an adult version some time that had the raisins and some extra heat (I was thinking sweet chile sauce). This is going to become part of my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
OMG!! I made this for dinner. My husband loved it as well as I. The quinoa, shrimp and veggies mixed beautifully and the ginger and lemon set it off. I will make this again and again. Didn't have to add anything extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovestocook25
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I'm on the hunt lately for quinoa recipes and since I have about 5 bags of shrimp from a recent sale I thought I'd give this one a try. Verdict: yummy! I made it exactly as written except for omitting the raisins because I don't like them. Very easy to make, healthy and delicious. Next time I'll add an extra tablespoon of lemon juice to brighten the flavours up even more. My husband suggested adding a bit of chopped jalapeno (he loves the Szechwan Shrimp from this site) but he likes a lot of heat in his food. Thanks for a great recipe I'll make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
My husband and I LOVED this dish! We threw sambal oelek (vietnamese chili paste) into the oil to give it a little kick otherwise, the flavors were simple but delicious. We also used only a 1/2lb of small shrimp and found it to be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by T. Rosen
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was wonderful! It was my first time using quinoa and I couldn't have been happier with the results. I didn't have asparagus so I used green beans and left out the raisins since hubby doesn't like them. Wonderful recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Rosen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Great recipe! I changed it up a bit since I didn't have some of the ingredients and I also used red quinoa to add color! Try cooking your veggies in white wine and then at the very end put in freshly chopped basil! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was really good with some revisions. I omitted the raisins and red bell pepper and replaced green beans for the asparagus. This lacked a little flavor so I added a few spashes of soy sauce and some additional seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I was in an adventerous mood this weekend, so I made a couple of recipes that include some ingredients that I'm not too crazy about, including red peppers and raisins. Since the only meat I eat is fish, I used "Not Chicken" vegetarian broth. I also added some water chestnuts I needed to use. It was really delicious. I don't recommend omitting the raisins. They add a tiny bit of sweetness that the dish needs. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I omitted the raisins and next time I'll omit the ginger or maybe put less. My first time trying quinoa and won't be the last. Very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2pretty2nv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States