Shrimp Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
OMG!! I made this for dinner. My husband loved it as well as I. The quinoa, shrimp and veggies mixed beautifully and the ginger and lemon set it off. I will make this again and again. Didn't have to add anything extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovestocook25
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I'm on the hunt lately for quinoa recipes and since I have about 5 bags of shrimp from a recent sale I thought I'd give this one a try. Verdict: yummy! I made it exactly as written except for omitting the raisins because I don't like them. Very easy to make, healthy and delicious. Next time I'll add an extra tablespoon of lemon juice to brighten the flavours up even more. My husband suggested adding a bit of chopped jalapeno (he loves the Szechwan Shrimp from this site) but he likes a lot of heat in his food. Thanks for a great recipe I'll make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
My husband and I LOVED this dish! We threw sambal oelek (vietnamese chili paste) into the oil to give it a little kick otherwise, the flavors were simple but delicious. We also used only a 1/2lb of small shrimp and found it to be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This tastes wonderful. Loved the ginger and asparagus in it. One suggestion, since the shrimp should only be cooked for a short time, saute them separately and add after adding the quinoa. I found it difficult to cook the shrimp evenly with all the other ingredients. The added reward - it is very healthy too! Thanks Diego782.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is a terrific recipe: beautifully colored, easy, and healthy (with one small change). Like another reviewer, we only used half of the shrimp required and it was still more than enough-I was thrilled because it made the recipe healthier and more economical. I also omitted the raisins because my kids dislike "cooked raisins', but I'd like to try an adult version some time that had the raisins and some extra heat (I was thinking sweet chile sauce). This is going to become part of my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Excellent! I just started actually cooking and getting away from frozen dinners and this was an incredibly easy and tasty recipe! Can't wait to make it again! Also, I am a shrimp lover so the whole pound was a good amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Torie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by T. Rosen
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was wonderful! It was my first time using quinoa and I couldn't have been happier with the results. I didn't have asparagus so I used green beans and left out the raisins since hubby doesn't like them. Wonderful recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Rosen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I love one dish meals and this was my 3rd time cooking with quinoa. I liked the sound of asparagus, shrimp and garlic so i thought i would give this a try. I omitted the raisins and mushrooms because i am not a fan of them. I also increased the garlic. A serving for 4 calls for 1.5 cups of broth, and I wound up using 2 cups in the end. I also seasoned further with garlic powder (i love garlic) and onion powder, plus a pinch of Vegeta. Definitely a good recipe that can be tweaked to your liking! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brosko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Deerfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Really great....love quinoa so this was going to be a winner. I did omit the ginger and raisins since I had none. Nice, light and healthy. Served with a tossed salad. Yummy meatless Friday dinner and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Fantastic one-dish meal that is both healthy and tasty. The amount of quinoa was perfect as my family doesn't love it, but there were plenty of shrimp and veggies in there. My only changes were to omit the raisins, increase the broth (I used veggie broth) to 2 cups. Mine was a bit on the salty side so I will try reduced-sodium broth next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States