Shrimp Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This was very good, and little bit sweet but that's exactly the kind of pad thai I was looking for. I made a few changes on the advice of others: I doubled the sauce ingredients, but I did not double the amount of vinegar. I substituted fresh lime and lime juice for the lemon, added about 2 tsp of garlic chili sauce to give it a little needed kick, and about 1 tsp soy sauce to take the edge off the sweetness. I decreased the peanuts by 1/2 cup to cut calories(just used a sprinkling on top for garnish) and added 1 cup of julienned carrots to the garnish at the end. With these changes, it tasted just like the Pad Thai I get at my favorite Thai restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
WOW! After many, many years of loving this for carry-out, we have finally found an easy and delicious alternative! Changes: double/triple the sauce recipe as the previous reviewers suggested, added 1 tsp red pepper flakes (we like it HOT), and 2 tsp garlic chili sauce. We added a handful of shredded carott, fresh basil, fresh bean sprouts, about 1/3 lb spicy sausage (this is the way my fave restaurant makes it) and used Trader Joes Rock Shrimp. I've also used chicken. Perfect. If you love spicey Pad Thai restaurant style, you will be very happy with this. Good enough to entertain with. Thanks Laura, and thanks previous reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This did not taste like pad thai at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blacktulip05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dammam, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
I liked this recipe but it lacked the tanginess usually associated with Pad Thai. Next time I will use half the noodles, double the sauce, and half the bean sprouts and peanuts. The egg part is a little tricky and is probably best done by pushing all ingredients to the sides of the wok, cooking the egg in the center until almost cooked, scrambling the egg, and then mixing with the rest of the ingredients. I served this with mango salad and it was quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I've been looking for a better Pad Thai sauce than the one I've always use. I don't like the paprika in it. This one wasn't too bad. First, don't substitute the fish sauce and all. That's what makes the sauce taste good. That's the base of most, if not all, Thai cooking. So if you don't use that, don't even try this recipe. Second, I scrambled the eggs then added the noodles then the sauce. If your noodles are too soggy it's either because you didn't use the right size noodles (I don't recommend the small size since they're too thin. Medium or large is best. If you can't find the variety at your regular grocery store, go to an Asian store, they'll have it.) Also, don't soak your noodles in hot water or for too long. That makes the noodles too soft which once cooked will be too soggy. Your noodles are ready to be cooked once they're bendable but still have a slight crunch in them. Overall, it wasn't too bad. I'd use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mjhutch
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Excellent! I did make some changes as recommended by other reviewers. I tripled the sauce, and scrambled the eggs before adding the sauce. I also substituted chicken instead of shrimp. I just cooked the chicken in a separate pan, chopped it and added it after cooking my eggs and before adding my sauce. I also added cayenne pepper to give it more of a kick and for color. Cayenne or red pepper flakes are a must in this recipe, otherwise it will be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I had been looking for a basic Pad Thai recipe for awhile, and when I came across this one I knew it would work. Try changing the following though: added: green onions, carrot, chili sauce and a splash of hot sauce, oyster sauce rice wine vinegar, cabbage (just abit) and the lime. I dumped : ketchup, fish sauce white wine vinegar and the lemon. Oh, by the way... double the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Skip the ketchup. Flavor is too bold with it, and this should have a delicate flavor. Don't use dry roasted nuts- raw unsalted peanuts are better. Having grown up in Thailand I may be a bit too picky, but I really found this an unsatisfactory take on one of my favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue's Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
As recommended by other reviews, I doubled the sauce. However, it still was not enough! My noodle turned out soggy too...I definatly recommend using the package directions (2-3 mins) instead of the direction here (30 mins). Next time I will cook the eggs first and set aside becuase they soaked up all the sauce, and I will quadruple the sauce and cut the noodles in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I doubled the sauce and added some fresh crushed lime and this turned out to be delicious! Better than I expected, since the reviews were so mixed. It was easy to make and it tastes very much like pad thai I have ordered before in a restaurant. I'll definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States