Shrimp Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
It tasted very ketsup-y to me, not at all like you would get at a restaurant. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
The flavor is OK- not quite what I'm used to from Thai restaurants. I doubled the sauce as suggested and I think it could use even more! The main problem I had was with the egg- when I added the beaten egg straight to the mixture it just caused it to thicken and become paste-like. Since the noodles hadn't been added, the mixture was too liquidy to push to the side and fry the egg in the center like you do with other stir fry dishes. If I try this again I think I will start to fry the egg in a separate pan and then add it. If I have better luck next time maybe I will change my rating. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Very tasty! I also tripled the sauce but got impatient with measuring and went heavy on the ketchup (not a good idea) The more bean sprouts the better! I used oyster sauce instead of fish sauce because thats what I had onhand and it was very good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mjhutch
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Excellent! I did make some changes as recommended by other reviewers. I tripled the sauce, and scrambled the eggs before adding the sauce. I also substituted chicken instead of shrimp. I just cooked the chicken in a separate pan, chopped it and added it after cooking my eggs and before adding my sauce. I also added cayenne pepper to give it more of a kick and for color. Cayenne or red pepper flakes are a must in this recipe, otherwise it will be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Flavor is pretty good, but not bold enough. Followed others advise about tripling sauce. I was hoping it would duplicate a fantastic Thai restaurant's recipe, unfortunatly this wasn't it. I'll have to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
It was tasty but needed some adjusting. The noodles should be pre cooked before adding it to the sauce, because the amount of sauce is to little to cook the noodles. Also I would scramble the egg before pouring into the mixture. The sauce should be double the amount. Wasn't to happy with this recipe. I ahd to keep adding things to make it work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I followed the directions to a tee and came out not so lucky... turned out terrible unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Fantastic recipe. I forgot to buy peanuts and used natural peanut butter instead, and it worked beautifully. I will say that it needs some more liquid - perhaps water or broth. I found the noodles a bit dry in spite of following the soaking/cooking directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This is so easy to make if you have all the ingredients on-hand. I came across this recipe by accident trying to use the leftover ingredients from the Vieatnamese Beef Pho recipe. With the noodles already cooked, I had these set aside from the pho, it only took about 15 minutes to prepare the entire dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I've been looking for a better Pad Thai sauce than the one I've always use. I don't like the paprika in it. This one wasn't too bad. First, don't substitute the fish sauce and all. That's what makes the sauce taste good. That's the base of most, if not all, Thai cooking. So if you don't use that, don't even try this recipe. Second, I scrambled the eggs then added the noodles then the sauce. If your noodles are too soggy it's either because you didn't use the right size noodles (I don't recommend the small size since they're too thin. Medium or large is best. If you can't find the variety at your regular grocery store, go to an Asian store, they'll have it.) Also, don't soak your noodles in hot water or for too long. That makes the noodles too soft which once cooked will be too soggy. Your noodles are ready to be cooked once they're bendable but still have a slight crunch in them. Overall, it wasn't too bad. I'd use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States