Shrimp Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I attempted to make Pad Thai over 20 yrs. ago and it was a disaster!!! Noodles all stuck together and other ingredients just wrapped around them. THIS recipe, however, a total success! Thank you for making it available. I did also triple the sauce, used lime juice instead, and added a bit of "heat". EXCELLENT! Will be making this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juiceycook
Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I love this recipe. I have made it so often I've stopped counting. I always double or triple the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I wish I would have read the reviews before I made this. This was very disappointing. I will say that maybe it did not turn out because I have never attempted to cook Thai food before. That being said, the dish was all paste. Everything stuck to eachother. It was a big ball of pastey noodles. It was also very bland. I am used to a little kick in the pad thai that I get from restaurants. My 8 year old loved it. She will eat the left overs because the rest of us certainly will not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I loved this recipe, read the other reviews and added 1/4 cup of diced scallions, 4 eggs fried and diced, 1/4 tsp of Sriracha Hot Chili sauce, 1/4 tsp of soy sauce. I doubled the sauce and substituted olive oil for the veg. oil. Used a thin rice noodle and cooked according to pkg instructions. Everyone in my family loved the Shrimp Pad Thai and the kids asked for seconds. I will be cooking this again as I didn't get enough leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is the basic recipe used by the sidewalk noodle cart vendors in Bangkok. I use sesame oil, fresh rice noodles and chopped kale and serve with ground peanuts and homemade pickled chopped chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Unlike other reviewers, I am going to recommend that you half the noodles, then you'll have enough sauce and then the recipe will make 4 servings. As it is now, it makes 8-9 servings. I also doubled the amount of shrimp - I understand the need for restaurants to safe on shrimp, but why do it at home?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Skip the ketchup. Flavor is too bold with it, and this should have a delicate flavor. Don't use dry roasted nuts- raw unsalted peanuts are better. Having grown up in Thailand I may be a bit too picky, but I really found this an unsatisfactory take on one of my favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue's Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I just tried this recipe out for dinner tonight but substituted the fish sauce (no grocery stores open on Easter Sunday in Canada) for Toyomansi, a filipino soy sauce with a hint of lemon. I had some snowpeas that I added as well. Turned out nice and I'll definitely try it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerdy Guy
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Good, not great. Very dry. You need to double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
yummy! I didnt add the fish sauce because I didnt have any. I also used leftover spaghetti noodles (without the spaghetti sauce) instead of the rice noodles. Deeeelish!!! And easier than it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States