Shrimp Marinaders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
I was looking for a quick and easy dish to take to a patio party, and this was it! They were gone in minutes! I used a combination of rice vinegar and red wine vinegar, and added a few more dashes of Tabasco sauce the next day after tasting. I also left the onions in slices to marinate, then removed them before serving so the aroma wouldn't knock everyone over. Great appetizer/party recipe - thanks Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This was very good and simple to prepare the night before for either a lunch salad or a nice appetizer. I didn't have celery seed so I used celery salt instead and didn't add the extra salt the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Very easy and great recipe! Living in Florida, I'm always looking for something different to do with shrimp. I first made these for a party about 3 years ago, and I'd say I've been asked to bring this shrimp to gatherings at least 10 times since then...especially nice because it's a "make-ahead" appetizer and can be done even up to 2 days before serving. Thanks for submitting it, it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Extremely easy and good - depending on the crowd, you may want to leave the onions chopped rather on the large side so that those who aren't fans can avoid them more easily. (Not a problem for those of us who like them, though, as the marinade really flavors them well.) ALSO: the leftovers are excellent on salad, the marinade is a essentially a vinaigrette dressing on its own...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Outstanding. Making it again tonight. I did not have regular hot sauce so I substituted some sauce I purchased from Grand Cayman on our last cruise. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinderella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I made this like it says, but used balsamic vinegar instead to punch it up some and then I took half of the shrimp and added pineapple juice. I got rave reviews! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSBHAVENOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harcourt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sally
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was easy and delicious. Like another reviewer, I left the onions in slices and removed them before serving. I did also add green onions and the juice of one lemon. Served over ice with cocktail sauce. (Also, I forgot and bought shrimp with tails ON...worked great)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I had something similar to this at a recent wedding, so I was very excited to try this. I used the basic recipe, but I can never leave anything alone. I taste-tested a shrimp about halfway through the marinating time, and it seemed to need a little zip, so I added the juice of one lemon, some chopped green onions, and a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper (we like spicy). Perfect! This is great as an appetizer, or as a main course on these hot, steamy days. My husband liked it so much he asked me to make it when his family comes to visit next month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I used this as a marinade for peeled raw shrimp and everyone LOVED it. I marinated it overnight in the fridge and cooked the shrimp skewered on the grill. Excellent!! I am thinking of trying this as a chicken marinade as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I like the addional note that was added about the reaction of aluminum and vinegar . Not a lot of novice cooks would know this. Great Add !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimbo_7877

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States