Shrimp Linguine Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This turned out good but I would make some changes next time. First, I would double the sauce. This just didn't make enough for our taste. Second, I would sautee the shrimp separately in olive oil with minced garlic and add it into the sauce just before serving. Cooking the shrimp in the sauce made the whole thing taste a little too shrimpy, and the shrimp was a little overcooked. Other than those small changes, this is a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
317 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
This is a very good shrimp alfredo recipe. I would recommend removing the shrimp from the pan once it's cooked through, and then add the half and half to the pan to thicken. Otherwise, the shrimp can become overcooked and tough. Just add the shrimp back to the sauce once it's thickened. Overall, very good. I've made it twice, and the second time, added some steamed broccoli to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Made some changes: 1. With the onions I added a red bell pepper, mushrooms, and just used an entire whole white onion. 2. Didn't use any butter. Just sprayed some oil into the pan. 3. I added 1/4 cup white wine in with the shrimp. 4. I added a pinch of red pepper flakes, and just put the black pepper and parmesan right into the sauce. I only used maybe 1/2 of the black pepper it calls for, if that. Add some and then taste as it's all person preference. 5. Used about 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of corn starch to thicken sauce. With those modifications it came out delicious! For even less fat try using homo milk and then just add a little more corn starch at the end. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
After some personal tweaking...this was delicious! DON'T overcook the shrimp. Fry it in the butter/onion/garlic until just cooked. Set aside. Pour 1 cup half and half, 1 half cup white wine and 1 tbsp of lemon juice into pan and stir constantly. (This heats up fast so keep stirring!) Add parmesan cheese to sauce as you are stirring(constantly!). Pour over cooked pasta, garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This was very good but I made a few slight changes. I used !/2 cup butter, omitted onions as my hubby don't like them, used the 4 tsp. garlic, 2 cups half n half only 1 tsp. pepper, 12 T fresh grated parmesan, instead of parsely sprigs , I used some dried parsely from my spices. Used frozen shrimp and added a can of crab meat. I cooked shrimp in butter till thawed and removed from pan. Then added my cream and cheese. To thicken a bit I used about 2 T cornsarch mixed with a tad of water until it was the consistency I like. Then added my shrimp and crab and gently heated. It made a nice amount of sauce so it wasn't dry. Everyone loved it! I imagine everyone could make this to their liking. It's a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Great recipe. I took other members advise and added more garlic, basil, white wine and parmesan to the sauce.I also cooked the shrimp and then set it aside and made the sauce on its own. I added a tsp cornstarch and then put the shrimp back in the sauce for 1 minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
my bf thought this was fabulous. i liked it but we both agreed it was missing something. i used cream instead of half and half. the sauce was pretty thin so we dumped a whole lot of parmesan cheese into the sauce until it thickened up. the next time i make this ill add more garlic since that flavor seemed to be lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Made this last night in a snap before heading out to darts. I added some fresh sliced mushrooms while sauting the onion and garlic. Also, I added a dash of cajun seasoning to the shrimp for a little kick and took another's recommendation and added some white wine to the sauce. I did have to thicken it with a little cornstarch (not much) but it was VERY GOOD!! Tasted like fine dining! Thanks Tina!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Good but better when i added a chopped roasted red bell pepper, sliced mushrooms & 1/2 cup white wine. I also used 1/2 heavy cream & 1/2 cup chix broth instead of the 1 cup half & half; this made a richer tasting sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
I don't know what I'm missing here... I put only 1 tsp of black pepper and it was still pretty spicy to me. Maybe everyone else out there loves extremely spicy dish?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Alfredo sauce gets a kick with cayenne pepper, cheese, and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States