Shrimp Linguine Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
this is a must save!!!!!! the sauce is FANTASTIC , and super easy, even for a beginner. I love to cook, and work in a restaurant so I know great food! I doubled plus the sauce, and added extra cheese, amazing. so good. thanks for this great one!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glenda
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Very rarely do i make a dish and immediately come upstairs to review it! I thought this was excellent! I felt like i was at a great seafood or italian place. That being said i did make a few minor changes per other reviews suggestions and a few of my own to cut down the fat and calories. I did double the sauce but I only used half the amount of butter and used fat free half and half. To make sure it thickened i made a rou by adding flour to the butter, then slowly added the half and half. I used jumbo shrimp and cooked them with butter, onions and garlic and then removed them slightly undercooked and added them back to the sauce the last minute or so. I also salted the sauce to taste. Served over whole wheat linguine with asparagus on the side. It was still rich and creamy, you really won't miss the fat at all! I will be adding this to the menu rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Tastes like what you would find at a restaurant. You will need to double if not triple the amount of sauce though....there is no WAY the amount of sauce is sufficient as written...that's not even one serving's worth. It's great, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I rarely write reviews, but this recipe deserves its 5 stars. I took alot of the suggestions and this dish served great heated up as left overs too. Finally a flavorful creme sauce dish! I diced one small onion, used 1/2 C butter and 4 cloves garlic minced. I sauteed the onion in butter and garlic until almost done and then added large shrimp for a couple minutes, not quite fully cooking the shrimp. I removed from heat and set aside. In another pan on med-high heat I used 1 1/4 C half and half, 3/4 C white wine, 1 T fresh lemon juice and 1 T cornstarch with water. Cooked until thickend, then added 12 T fresh parm. cheese until melted. I then added in shrimp mixture for another minute or two along with about 1/4 C of fresh chopped parsley. Fabulous! The wine made this. My husband couldn't get over how good the shrimp was. Next time I will add the lemon juice to the shrimp instead, but other than that, this is a dinner for guests. Will serve 6 if you make a salad to go with it on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
A very good base recipe that can be seasoned to taste. I use unsalted butter so I have to add sea salt at the end. I added 2 tsp. flour to the sauce to thicken it and added more Half & Half than called for. I reduce the amount of linguine to 10 oz since I prefer a thick sauce and lots of it. Tried it with scallops, and it was good as well. I have made several times. This last time I made with Fat Free Half & Half and it was still very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is just what I have been looking for. It is fabulous. I did make some changes. I used butter and olive oil when I sauteed the shrimp and about 1/3 cup of white wine as the shrimp was gettting done. I put freshly grated parm cheese in the sauce and then more on top when it was all done. It was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was a good recipe. Like a previous reviewer I doubled the sauce, it just didn't seem like enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deltona, Florida, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! This got rave reviews from my family! I used pre-cooked frozen shrimp and cooked in the butter only until it was warm. I added about 4 teaspoons of cornstarch, about a teaspoon of Italian seasoning (and will use more next time), about half of the called-for amount of pepper, and the Parmesan cheese to my fat-free half-and-half mixture. It took about 10 minutes to thicken. I also used whole grain linguine, which made it taste even better! I STRONGLY recommend sprinkling some fresh lemon juice over this!! I used a lemon wedge per serving and that really added to it. I made a little extra sauce, but then spilled a pretty large amount of it on the floor :) so I think the called-for amount of sauce would be plenty (since that's pretty much what I came out with, if not less). The flavor is so strong that you really don't need to drown the shrimp and pasta in the sauce. My dad is already requesting this again this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchoward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Great simple meal. My 4 yr. old boy keeps asking for this weekly ... Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Alfredo sauce gets a kick with cayenne pepper, cheese, and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States