Shrimp Linguine Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Like others, I doubled the sauce. Cooked the garlic and onions, then added the half & half. Once that reduced a bit I slowly added the cheese (didn't measure, just eyeballed)..use a good cheese, it does make a difference. I used Grana Padano and it added a great rich flavor. Then I added the shrimp in the end while the sauce simmered so they wouldn't overcook. I added lots of pepper & mushrooms..but you can season to your taste. Really good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was good but know I did something wrong with the sauce. It did not get thick at all. I still enjoyed it but will have to figure out what I did wrong the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITEE0971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is a good recipe, but there isn't enough sauce and my family prefers a few more shrimp. I ended up using half of the noodles for another dish because the sauce ran out. I also added a couple of fresh broccoli crowns to the onion and garlic mixture, and I added the Parmesan cheese directly to the sauce to give it more of an alfredo flavor - otherwise it's just a milk sauce with some garlic and onions. The next time I make this I will double the onions, half-and-half, and Parmesan cheese. I thought there was enough garlic flavor, so I will probably keep this the same. I will also reduce the pepper to 1 tsp. and add it directly to the sauce. With these changes, I think it deserves 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sgall1483

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sanjustorres
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
very simple, and very good. i did not put the shrimp in with the sauce, but added green and red bell peppers while the sauce was cooking. the shrimp was already cooked so i sauteed it with olive oil and one crushed clove of garlic. seasoned it with salt and pepper too. i took out the bell peppers so they wouldn't get mushy, then i put the pasta in a bowl, put the bell peppers down, shrimp on top then added the sauce to the whole thing. oh, i doubled the sauce too. it was YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanjustorres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
My sauce did not thicken enough for me and there was still something lacking in the flavor dept. My shrimp did become tough while waiting for the sauce to thicken. I will continue to look for a good alfredo recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Easy, delicious and re-heats well. You should either cut the noodles by half or double the sauce and shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Was great! I accidentally thickened it too much with flour, but was happy in the end when I had extra sauce above the doubled amount having added milk to thin it out. I also included grilled scallops on top and steamed asparagus. Heaven! Oh, and mushroom, but I don't know if I'll do that again as it was too many extras. Lots of fresh grated parm cheese made this one a success. I certainly didn't measure it. Just put in a whole lot of it. I didn't use the lemon. Oh, and all I had was rotini. Yum! Husband and I made it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I think this recipe has potential, but requires modifications. I agree with the other reviewers that the sauce needs to be doubled, but don't double the pepper! I used 1 tsp pepper in a doubled recipe and that was plenty. This recipe would benefit from some seasonings especially basil, parsley, &/or oregano. Several little things aren't quite right with this recipe, but it's the reliance on all that pepper for seasoning that I would change first if I were to try this again. I removed the shrimp before making the sauce so they wouldn't get overcooked. The sauce did not really thicken much, so the recipe was better after it sat for a little bit and the linguine absorbed some of the liquid. I stirred the pepper & Parmesan into the sauce at the end...I think this worked better than sprinkling those two ingredients over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Good recipe, made as directed but doubled sauce. Easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Alfredo sauce gets a kick with cayenne pepper, cheese, and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States