Shrimp Linguine Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Lucy
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
The recipe definitely needs to be doubled for sauce and needs salt desperately. Otherwise, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This recipe is good but adding a little salt would be better. It's a bit bland without salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
We loved this dish. I followed some reccomendations from other reviewers and I doubled the sauce and removed the shrimp from the pan as soon as it turned pink. The sauce does take a pretty long time to thicken, especially since I doubled it, but it was so good and i didn't have to add any thickener such as cornstarch. Also I only used about a 1/2 teaspoon pepper. With these changes it was so creamy and had such a great flavor that I'm not only going to make it often, but I'm going to try it with grilled chicken. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
As always, I read all of the other reviews. So I doubled the sauce. To me the sauce was a little too thin. And as others mentioned, it's missing something. I'm just not sure what. I will definately make this again. I"ll just have to play around with it and read more reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this per recipe. The sauce wouldn't thicken so I disolved a tsp. corn starch in 1/8 c. cold water and started adding it. I only had to add 1/2 to get right consistency. The flavor was perfect. Resturant quality! I will definately make this winner again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evie Stocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Grand Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Good recipe with adjustments. Always read reviews first! Definetly DOUBLE the recipe (not noodles), cook the shrimp separate from cream mixture as sauce takes a while to thicken, I added small amount of corn starch or flour to thinken cream mixture up. I added fresh parmesan to the cream mixture as well. When I cooked the shrimp I added mushrooms, garlic and diced red bell pepper. You can cook the onion and garlic (use lots, gives good flavour-at least 6 cloves) with butter then add cream and fresh parmesan plus little corn starch or flour. Cook shrimp mixture separate and add to sauce when thick and combine with noodles. Served with bread. So delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeejean

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Like others, I doubled the sauce. Cooked the garlic and onions, then added the half & half. Once that reduced a bit I slowly added the cheese (didn't measure, just eyeballed)..use a good cheese, it does make a difference. I used Grana Padano and it added a great rich flavor. Then I added the shrimp in the end while the sauce simmered so they wouldn't overcook. I added lots of pepper & mushrooms..but you can season to your taste. Really good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was good but know I did something wrong with the sauce. It did not get thick at all. I still enjoyed it but will have to figure out what I did wrong the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITEE0971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is a good recipe, but there isn't enough sauce and my family prefers a few more shrimp. I ended up using half of the noodles for another dish because the sauce ran out. I also added a couple of fresh broccoli crowns to the onion and garlic mixture, and I added the Parmesan cheese directly to the sauce to give it more of an alfredo flavor - otherwise it's just a milk sauce with some garlic and onions. The next time I make this I will double the onions, half-and-half, and Parmesan cheese. I thought there was enough garlic flavor, so I will probably keep this the same. I will also reduce the pepper to 1 tsp. and add it directly to the sauce. With these changes, I think it deserves 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sgall1483

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sanjustorres
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
very simple, and very good. i did not put the shrimp in with the sauce, but added green and red bell peppers while the sauce was cooking. the shrimp was already cooked so i sauteed it with olive oil and one crushed clove of garlic. seasoned it with salt and pepper too. i took out the bell peppers so they wouldn't get mushy, then i put the pasta in a bowl, put the bell peppers down, shrimp on top then added the sauce to the whole thing. oh, i doubled the sauce too. it was YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanjustorres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Alfredo sauce gets a kick with cayenne pepper, cheese, and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States