Shrimp Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was just okay to me. I made this to have a nice romantic dinner on new years eve for my hubby and he thought that it was good. But I didn't even eat half of my plate. Doubled the sauce..good idea. I am giving this 4 stars b/c I did save it for the next day and after spicing it up...it was great. I added crushed red pepper flakes, LOTS of salt and more garlic. Next time I will do this with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe. I used canned tomatoes instead of plum. Next time I will drain the tomatoes since the sauce was a little too runny. I used some of the bacon grease to saute the garlic. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very tasty, and so pretty! I used packaged picnic-style bacon bits instead of frying my own, and that worked great and saved a little time. You have to have the pasta on and have everything chopped ahead of time because the recipe comes together very quickly. Next time I might use a bit less pasta and thin the sauce with a little white wine, just because I think that might allow the sauce to cover the pasta better and we like our cream sauces pretty light. But this recipe is definitely a keeper, and one I would serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made this for our New Year's Day meal. Superb. Wouldn't change a thing. Went to two stores for fresh basil and oregano, but everyone was out. Had to use dried, but still a great meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Sinful, to say the least. We steamed the shrimp in a variety of spices, primarily Old Bay. I wish I had had more shrimp, but it wasn't necessary. I doubled the half and half, and used up my Monty Jack cheese, which turned out to be close to 2 cups, and evened out the Parmesan to about 1 cup too. There's so much that can be done with this recipe, I can tell that easily enough. Next time I will probably add more Old Bay to the actual sauce, if I don't cook the shrimp in it in a skillet instead of steaming it. Phenomenal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Definitely restaraunt quality. Absolutely delicious recipe and super easy to make. This is a great recipe to make to impress and the best part is you will impress with very little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is restaurant quality...darn tasty. I pretty much followed the recipe. I used dried oregano and fresh basil, used half fat free half and half and regular half and half, and if you "halfn't" had enough of that...I sauteed the 16-20 ct Prawns in a little of the left over bacon grease. I also added Shitake mushrooms to the tomatoe, green onion mixture. Also added a splash of white wine and extra 2 percent monterey jack cheese. Definately a keeper I've tried to cut a couple grams of fat from. The Parmesan was reduced fat also. I used garlic fettuccini as my "Pasta of Choice" since any of these types of dishes are flexible as to the TYPE of pasta used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
All this needs is some white wine and garlic.... and remember... if you wouldn't DRINK the wine, you shouldn't COOK with it either!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Spankie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
oops...forgot to mention I added 2 small cloves of garlic with the onions, tomatoes, etc....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Likly-Welch

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Excellent, I served this recently and my guests loved it. I add garlic salt for a little stronger garlic flavor. Add a simple side salad and some good bread and you have a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Cunningham
Home Town: Montoursville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States