Shrimp Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I made this on the spur of the moment. I had shrimp, green onions and bacon. The rest I had to substitute. Used chopped garlic 1 1/2 t., 2 t. dried oregano, 2 t. dried basil, 1 can diced fire roasted tomatoes drained. Did not have 1/2 and 1/2, substitued 1/2 c. heavy cream and 1/2 fat free milk. Used 1 c. Monterey Jack cheese and 1/2 cup Parmesan freshly grated. The big surprise was throwing uncooked shrimp into the skillet and realizing it called for cooked. I just cooked it stirring constantly until the shrimp was pink. It turned out beautifully and we really enjoyed it served over angel hair pasta. I will try it with fresh ingredients next time, but we loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Glenwood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I think I found the way to tweak this recipe to perfection! Great base, so thank you to the original creator. After sauteing the bacon, leave about 1 Tbs. of bacon grease and add the garlic, herbs and scallion (I used dried herbs b/c it is winter). Saute for a few minutes and then add a 14 oz. can of San Marzano whole plum tomatoes and their juices. Simmer for about 10 minutes, until the tomatoes break down a bit. Add RAW shrimp and cook until pink (about 5 minutes). Add the cream and cheeses and bacon, salt and pepper to taste, and then the linguine. Mmmm delicious! 5 stars after these modifications. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Good. Not quite worth the calorie content but still yummy. I had to double the sauce because it did not make that much. With some alterations this recipe has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made this last night for my parents and everyone loved it!! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dania Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Merrifield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I fixed this for my daughter and family. They loved it. We left out the bacon as my daughter is trying to lower her cholesterol and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I thought this recipe sounded great but didn't have all the ingredients so I added a can of Roasted Diced Tomatoes which gave us more sauce, instead of half&half I made a sauce with 3/4 c. skim milk, 2 tbsp Flour, 2 Tbsp Shredded Parm/Romano/Asiago and 2 tbsp lite Parmesan cheese (tasted Great!)had no bacon but I seasoned the Shrimp with garlic, 1/2 tsp. Red Pepper and 1/8 tsp ground black pepper to add flavor and I sauted this in a Garlic infused Olive oil. Next time I'll use less Green Onions, I left out the other cheese it wasn't needed and the way I made it was lower in Fat. We had a nice big salad and a glass of Pinot Noir with it - Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Best shrimp linguine I've had and restaurant quality for sure. I had extra bacon on hand so doubled it and added hot pepper flakes for kick. I also thickened it a bit with some water/cornstarch at the end. My guests all raved and NO you don't need salt, yuk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I was looking for something quick to make for dinner and I realized I had all the ingredients. (However, the shrimp was pretty ancient having been in the freezer for a very long time!) Even so it turned out well and my husband requested I make it again. I'm sure the next time I will use fresher shrimp and it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was just okay to me. I made this to have a nice romantic dinner on new years eve for my hubby and he thought that it was good. But I didn't even eat half of my plate. Doubled the sauce..good idea. I am giving this 4 stars b/c I did save it for the next day and after spicing it up...it was great. I added crushed red pepper flakes, LOTS of salt and more garlic. Next time I will do this with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States