Shrimp Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
A PERFECT dish!! I used dried oregano & basil. I used shredded Monterey Jack & Colby cheese, along with grated Pecorino Romano cheese instead of Parmesan. I diced the bacon instead of crumbling it. I did not use tomatoes. Enjoy!! I hope my review helps you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
What happened?? This was not to our liking at all! After reading the title, ingredients, and reviews, I thought that we would love this. I followed the recipe to the "T" - and it was BLAH! Bland! What happened? I had to add salt, pepper, more parmesan, and more salt - still blah! I didn't like this one - sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEYKEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
We liked this alot. I kept the same amount of eveything except I used 1/2 c. each of the cheeses, and 1 pint of 1/2 and 1/2. I didn't have fresh herbs, so I used 1 TBSP. each of dried basil and oregano. I also used whole wheat pasta. And I had alittle bit of broccoli left over so I put that in also.I tossed the pasta in with the sauce, Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
My husband told me to give this five stars. I doubled the Half and Half and the cheeses but kept everything else as is. I don't think there would have been enough sauce had I not done this. The flavor was great and it made a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elysesproul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was pretty good, but just a little bland for us, perhaps because I left out the oregano (didn't have any). I perked it up with extra sea salt and lots of pepper. Might try a little red pepper flakes next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Was very good! The only changes I made was I only did 1/2 pound shrimp, but added 1 pound jumbo crabmeat and sprinkled some red pepper flakes on me and my husband's bowl because we like it a little spicier than our kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
We found this recipe to be marginal at best ~ a waste of good ingredients. I won't be making it again. Sounded wonderful, but very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I made this on the spur of the moment. I had shrimp, green onions and bacon. The rest I had to substitute. Used chopped garlic 1 1/2 t., 2 t. dried oregano, 2 t. dried basil, 1 can diced fire roasted tomatoes drained. Did not have 1/2 and 1/2, substitued 1/2 c. heavy cream and 1/2 fat free milk. Used 1 c. Monterey Jack cheese and 1/2 cup Parmesan freshly grated. The big surprise was throwing uncooked shrimp into the skillet and realizing it called for cooked. I just cooked it stirring constantly until the shrimp was pink. It turned out beautifully and we really enjoyed it served over angel hair pasta. I will try it with fresh ingredients next time, but we loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Glenwood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I think I found the way to tweak this recipe to perfection! Great base, so thank you to the original creator. After sauteing the bacon, leave about 1 Tbs. of bacon grease and add the garlic, herbs and scallion (I used dried herbs b/c it is winter). Saute for a few minutes and then add a 14 oz. can of San Marzano whole plum tomatoes and their juices. Simmer for about 10 minutes, until the tomatoes break down a bit. Add RAW shrimp and cook until pink (about 5 minutes). Add the cream and cheeses and bacon, salt and pepper to taste, and then the linguine. Mmmm delicious! 5 stars after these modifications. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Good. Not quite worth the calorie content but still yummy. I had to double the sauce because it did not make that much. With some alterations this recipe has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States