Shrimp, Leek and Spinach Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I switched it up a little since I didn't have all the ingredients or like them. Used 1 cup of rice and TWO cans of chix broth. Added garlic to the chix broth. Omitted the leeks & chile pepper. Added mushrooms and more garlic and cooked with the spinach. Stirred in a 2 handfuls of Romano at the end. Was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Double up on the broth, my rice absorbed it fast and was too dry. Risotto is supposed to be creamy. I've had better recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
It was really good. I just didn't add the red bell pepper and I added a lot more liquid (vegetable broth). I grated some parmesan cheese on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very nice recipe. I liked the way the veges were still crunchy. I used wholegrain rice and lots more leeks, but that is just my taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
It's hard to review this one fairly. To make as written would not work properly because of the incorrect proportions of Arborio to water. However, the flavor profile was perfect and if altered for a successful risotto the flavor is wonderful. I can't list all the alterations for this because it would seem like a new recipe but I did use this one as my base and I only added white wine and 2 tbsp butter as ingredient changes.....so I can't really claim a new recipe. My advice, use your own risotto knowledge w/ these ingredients and you'll love the finished product! If you don't "know" risotto....start w/ another recipe and then return here when you get the "feel" for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
As written, this recipe doesn't cut it. In order to end up with more than a bowl full of savory Rice Krispies, you need about a 4:1 ratio of liquid to rice. And adding the liquid in thirds doesn't produce that silky, creamy goodness that makes risotto risotto. You've gotta ladle it in 1/2 to 3/4 cup at a time which, of course, adds a good 10 or more minutes to the cooking time. I just don't understand why folks make all kinds of changes & then give a recipe a 4 or 5 star rating. Why not just post a customized version? I mean, your suggestions are EXCELLENT & more than necessary for this recipe to be successful! Anyhoot, with more liquid, a touch more oil for sauteing, & some butter stirred in at the end for the creaminess factor, this would have rated 4 stars - but that's a different recipe then, isn't it? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
First time for me making risotto. As others have noted, the recipe calls for not enough broth. Luckily, I realized this halfway through when all of my broth was gone, and I was reading tips on how to make risotto in my "New Basics Cookbook". In addition to the poor risotto ratios, I felt that the spinach detracted from the dish, rather than adding to it. Two stars, because I believe the overall idea of the shrimp/scallop risotto is solid, but really, the recipe needs substantial work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Very good recipe. I agree that the risotto preparation must be modified. It requires almost a 4:1 ratio of stock to rice, and it takes a lot of attention and at least 30- 45 minutes to cook. There's just no shortcut to making a good risotto... In addition, I prefer to prepare the scallops and shrimp separately. I use large scallops and like to prepare them over high heat so they caramelize- yum! And preparing the shrimp separately simply prevents them from over-cooking. Last, I suggest you scale down the recipe. Based on other reviews, I reduced the recipe from 4 to 2, yet we had enough for 5 adults!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Incredible! This recipe was wonderful, and we're adding it to our regular favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissykeikocakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RSobkowz
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I'd never made risotto before and thankfully read the other reviews about needing extra liquid. I downsized the recipe to 1 cup of rice and a full 32oz carton of broth would be just about perfect. I only used about 3-3.5. I also started the leeks and garlic on heat earlier than the shrimp and scallops because I despise overcooked seafood and wanted to prevent that. A little lemon at the end and some fresh chopped herbs over top for color would be about my only other suggestions. Personally I loved the dish, big time. The next time I make it I'll be sure to use a 4:1 ration for rice/broth, finish with some lemon and fresh herbs and I think it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States