Shrimp, Leek and Spinach Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This is a great starter recipe for risotto. I did change it by adding a extra 1 tsp. of garlic and using chicken stock instead of vegetable stock. It does make enough for 6 people with a salad and crusty bread. You do need to double on the liquid though. That is the only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars. Also you can substitute red pepper flakes for the fresh hot pepper. I started with a 1/2 tsp. but would maybe add a whole tsp. next time. My family likes more spice. Still a great idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was my first time making Risotto, but by far not my first time eating it. My rating is a 3 because the rice to broth ratio should be 3:1 or slightly more, but here it is a little off. I used 5 cups broth to 1 and a half cups rice and it was almost just enough. Adding a little extra wine (Sauvignon Blanc) and water gave the rice just what it needed. To save money I excluded scallops and went with a half pound of shrimp (We are not big meatheads). I cooked through most everything accordingly, except previously noted, and it turned out delicious. I did not combine the veggies and rice, but did plate the rice with the veggies on top (allowing the diner to eat as many veggies as they wanted. This meal was excellent and is coupled well with a homemade dry bread. The rich buttery flavor from the rice couples well with the leek and shrimp for a good finish to a good night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was the first recipe that I used from this site that both my husband and I agreed was wonderful. Like others I used 1 cup of rice and 3 cups of stock. I also used frozen peas instead of spinach and since we had no chillies I cheated and used chili flakes which worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I will rate this a 5 with the following revisions: -2Tbsp olive oil for the rice and 2Tbsp for the leek mixture -Def. needs more veggie broth, 6-8C depending on your rice -More like 1 1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper -1/2 tsp fresh ground salt at the end -1/2 lemon squeezed over risotto at the end and then blended just before serving. I love a hint of lemon whenever I cook with shrimp... This is a keeper risotto recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAPOLIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I use chicken broth in this recipe and all other risotto recipes because of flavor. I only did shrimp , no spinach and lots of garlic , it's always good ! I like to add shallots fresh parsley and basil at the end. I add the raw shrimp at the very end once the heat is turned off so the shrimp don't overcook .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Adjusted the proportion of rice to water as others suggested and it was fantastic. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was a perfect recipe to add to my dinner menu! After making a few variations such as substituting red onion instead of the leeks and using chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, my family found this recipe one that is worthy for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This just ended up tasting very strongly of leeks and spinach and not much else. I had precooked shrimp that I added right at the end and they didn't pick up much flavor. Raw shrimp that could cook longer might be better in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Excellent recipe. I double the amount of scallops and used green onions instead of leeks. I also added one extra cup of warm water with two cube of buillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States