Shrimp, Leek and Spinach Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was really good! My family really enjoyed it; I'll be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schuylerville, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was my first time making risotto and it was a success! I didn't have any leek but would like to add it next time, I just used minced onion. I used 4 cups broth to one cup rice and I used the suggestion of boiling the shrimp shells for 30 min with some water and a cup of chicken broth. I also had some swiss chard which I threw in there. Didn't have the pepper so I just put in some red pepper flakes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phuong
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Fantastic recipe, but like the others I used 1 cup rice and 4 cups of vegetable broth. I still had to add a bit more water after using up the broth. Didn't have red chili peppers, so we used chili paste instead. I will definitely make this again, but with all the ingredients including the scallions. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phuong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Made it for dinner last night and used 500grams of marinara mix from the deli. Was delicious!!! Thnks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Want to take it up a notch? Buy fresh shimp, peel them, and use the shells to make your own shrimp stock. Just add water, onion, celery, carrot, and a few aromatics. Simmer slowly for about an hour, strain, and use as directed. In a hurry? Add the shells to an existing veggie or chicken stock and simmer 20-30 minutes, strain and use. Makes a world of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This recipe is sooooo good you have to try it! I used orzo instead of arborio rice as its about 5 dollars less pound! I also added a about 1/2 a cup of heavy cream to thicken up the sauce. I don't like scallops too much, but i love lobster and it made the dish tasting amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I really liked this but my husband wasn't as thrilled (that's why I only gave it three stars). Didn't change anything except used chili paste instead of a fresh one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was very good. Will definatly clean the leeks a little more carfully... dirt is not my favorite form of fiber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLHETRICK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Wonderful recipe and has become a family weekend favorite. Risotto is just a bit time consuming for me. I've made this recipe quit a few times now and play around with the ingredients depending on what I have available especially the scallops. (My husband loves them and I'm not a big fan so I never mind if their missing). I do always add more broth than what is asked for because it doesn't come out right with just 4 cups. I think a 3 to 1 ratio works better. You must give this recipe a try! Its really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was delicious! I followed the advice of other reviewers and modified the rice/liquid ratio. I cut the rice in half and left all the other ingredients the same. However, there was WAY too much leek in the recipe that way! I would suggest halving the rice and the leek, and leaving everything else the same, as the other proportions seemed just right. The taste was great though, and even though I was skeptical about the lack of salt in the recipe, it was not needed (due to the broth, I'm sure). I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States