Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This was a very tasty dish and the whole family loved it. We did add extra shrimp. The one problem is the cooking time. After about 5 hours on high I noticed it was almost done. If I had left it for 7 -9 as stated then it would have been mush. I had to turn it off for 2 hours and then proceed as directed with the orzo and shrimp. Keep an eye on this when cooking. Great reheated leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
It was OK - not nearly spicy enough, though, and it lacked the flavor of traditional jambalaya, even after adding extra spices. If I were to make this again, I would add a spicy andouille sausage and a heap of cajun seasoning. I only ancini de pepi, so I served it over the traditional hot white rice instead of orzo. My 4 and 6 year olds ate a good portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
For a jamabalaya made in a crock pot instead of from scratch with the traditional roux, it's not bad. However, since I'm accustomed to the traditional ways of making Cajun and Creole dishes, I'm probably not going to use this recipe all that often. There just seemed to be something lacking about the flavor. Maybe next time I'll up the amount of Cajun seasoning I used in place of the Italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cullman, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Strange version of jambalaya. Aside from that the only part that tasted good in the end was the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
First of all, I made a couple of changes to this recipe. I used a full tsp of salt instead of 1/2 and added about a tbsp of chili powder to give it a little more kick and depth. Also, I didn't have any orzo, so I used instant brown rice. The pros to this recipe are that it is very easy and a great example of slow cooker "make it and forget it". The cons (in my opinion) are that even with the added salt and spices, it was still kind of bland. This is more of a "mock jambalaya" simply because a true jambalaya has a lot more kick and richness created by the roux and cajun spices. However, there is a lot of room for experimentation with this recipe, and I will continue to use it as a base and play around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
we made this over the weekend and thought it could use more seasonings. very bland! we added extra shrimp and chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I also added cajun style andouille sausage, a lot more spices, and some Frank's Hot Sauce to make it extra spicy. It definitely hit the spot on this nice snow day! It was pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Weir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
simple, fast and delicious, all I did was add about 2 1/2 tablespoons of Old Bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Delicious! I used more orzo than it called for because it seemed a little soupy without it. My husband and I both enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
added hot sauce and sausage.. family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Bodai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States