Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
Other than prep time this was an easy recipe to make. I made it for a group of people, and although it was a little dry for me, my husband and our friends loved it. Next time we may try it with andioulle sausage instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This was a very tasty dish and the whole family loved it. We did add extra shrimp. The one problem is the cooking time. After about 5 hours on high I noticed it was almost done. If I had left it for 7 -9 as stated then it would have been mush. I had to turn it off for 2 hours and then proceed as directed with the orzo and shrimp. Keep an eye on this when cooking. Great reheated leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I added sweet sausage to this recipe and was pretty generous with Texas Pete hot sauce as well to give it a little more kick. It was really easy to make, but like the other reviewer, I left it on low the entire time. It was a huge hit at our Mardi Gras party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
It was OK - not nearly spicy enough, though, and it lacked the flavor of traditional jambalaya, even after adding extra spices. If I were to make this again, I would add a spicy andouille sausage and a heap of cajun seasoning. I only ancini de pepi, so I served it over the traditional hot white rice instead of orzo. My 4 and 6 year olds ate a good portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
For a jamabalaya made in a crock pot instead of from scratch with the traditional roux, it's not bad. However, since I'm accustomed to the traditional ways of making Cajun and Creole dishes, I'm probably not going to use this recipe all that often. There just seemed to be something lacking about the flavor. Maybe next time I'll up the amount of Cajun seasoning I used in place of the Italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cullman, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Excellent recipe. Next time I'll add 1/2 the orzo, though. It soaked up too much of the sauce and made it slightly drier than I would have liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
My husband loved it and he is picky about food. To spice it up for him, I just put 4 dashs of Tabasco sauce when I served him a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Easy to make but was very bland. I can't decide what it is missing but it does not taste like jambalaya. We will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
added hot sauce and sausage.. family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Bodai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Orzo pasta is good. Need to double for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States