Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
As others have said, it's a bland recipe. I added shrimp and crab boil as well as a cajun blend of spices plus through in a few other spices I like to use. it ended.up being yummy. I used cut okra which was frozen as well as peeled and deveined frizen shrimp so I cheated on the prep time! I recommend putting in the shrimp about 10 minutes before it's ready for serving. After reading others saying it was too thin, I also added corn starch to thicken it a bit. I will make again and probably continue to alter it as I see fit. I rated this based on the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I found this recipe to be great base for making my own gumbo. I don't follow many recipes exactly, but I do need the basics and this gave me those basics perfectly. I put my own twist on most everything. Before adding this review I added my photo (there wasn't one before that) which you can clearly see I added corn. It did make it great. I also added fresh spicy paprika peppers which gave it a nice bite. I am planning on making it again tonight and came back to refresh my memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I added some seasonings too it, but overall I thought it was a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
It was very good , it didn't take that long. I added homemade Cajun sesoning .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This is a very good "base" recipe, but you have to add a lot of spices to make this edible. Also would be better if you added chicken and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hope, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was quick and very delicious! It was good enough for the New Orleanians in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Mine came out a bit watery--I substituted a quarter of the water with clam juice to add to the flavor, and next time, I might not add so much water to increase the thickness. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Wow!!! This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCSEWLADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This was the most boring gumbo I've ever made. I tried adding extra spices, but that didn't help much. It was edible but why bother, and a waste of expensive shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bayview, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This is a pretty standard gumbo recipe, but always, always, wait until 5 to 10 minutes before serving to add the shrimp. Otherwise, as others complained, they'll be tough as shoe leather. I include a cup of chopped celery with the onion and bell pepper to be authentic. I always season with Tony Chachere's and some hot sauce (I love Cholula) and add sliced smoked sausage (which you can add early).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States