Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
As others have said, it's a bland recipe. I added shrimp and crab boil as well as a cajun blend of spices plus through in a few other spices I like to use. it ended.up being yummy. I used cut okra which was frozen as well as peeled and deveined frizen shrimp so I cheated on the prep time! I recommend putting in the shrimp about 10 minutes before it's ready for serving. After reading others saying it was too thin, I also added corn starch to thicken it a bit. I will make again and probably continue to alter it as I see fit. I rated this based on the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I found this recipe to be great base for making my own gumbo. I don't follow many recipes exactly, but I do need the basics and this gave me those basics perfectly. I put my own twist on most everything. Before adding this review I added my photo (there wasn't one before that) which you can clearly see I added corn. It did make it great. I also added fresh spicy paprika peppers which gave it a nice bite. I am planning on making it again tonight and came back to refresh my memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I added some seasonings too it, but overall I thought it was a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
It was very good , it didn't take that long. I added homemade Cajun sesoning .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This is a very good "base" recipe, but you have to add a lot of spices to make this edible. Also would be better if you added chicken and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hope, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was quick and very delicious! It was good enough for the New Orleanians in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Mine came out a bit watery--I substituted a quarter of the water with clam juice to add to the flavor, and next time, I might not add so much water to increase the thickness. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Wow!!! This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCSEWLADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This was the most boring gumbo I've ever made. I tried adding extra spices, but that didn't help much. It was edible but why bother, and a waste of expensive shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bayview, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This is a pretty standard gumbo recipe, but always, always, wait until 5 to 10 minutes before serving to add the shrimp. Otherwise, as others complained, they'll be tough as shoe leather. I include a cup of chopped celery with the onion and bell pepper to be authentic. I always season with Tony Chachere's and some hot sauce (I love Cholula) and add sliced smoked sausage (which you can add early).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States