Shrimp Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
THIS SOUP GETS AN A++++!!! I'VE BROUGHT IT TO SEVERAL FAMILY FUNCTIONS AND EVERYONE HAS RAVED ABOUT IT! I'VE ADDED MORE AVOCADOS BECAUSE MY HUSBAND LOVES THEM! YOU MAY ALSO WANT TO ADD SOME EXTRA SPICES LIKE SEASONED SALT OR MEXICAN SPICES!! A++++++++++!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very good. A nice way to turn garden veggies into a refreshing meal. I used V-8 (will try Clamato next time), and added worchestershire sauce - but I think I'll leave out the sauce next time. Didn't have avocado, and served with a dollop of sour cream. I added a jalapeno, but will probably just use jalapeno hot sauce next time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Easy, and good. To one bowl I added some salsa. I might add black beans sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Barbee
Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daidai
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I never thought about using avocados in soups before, so when I came across this recipe I was pleasantly surprised. The only thing different I did was leave out the cucumber, use mixed seafood instead of just shrimp, and make my own tomato soup base by stewing some tomatoes just covered in water with some garlic for 15 minutes and blending it with some leftover drainings from boiling the seafood. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I LOVED this dish. I added 1tbsp of garlic and 1tbsp of olive oil but it was just as good before I added them. I also cut my shrimp into bite sized pieces to get shrimp in every bite! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This recipe is great as a starter - I used all tomato juice, salad shrimp, added 2 diced jalapeno peppers, 2 T. garlic powder, 2 T. Worchestershire sauce and about 10 T. hot sauce. My wife and I love our food spicy so we made these changes/additions. Great recipe - thanks Dawn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was WONDERFUL! I grew up eating this and it tastes just like my dad used to make. I scaled it down and used what I had on hand. I used a 46 oz of V8 vegetable tomato juice, 1 cucumber, 1 avocado, 1lb of cooked, frozen shrimp that I defrosted under cold water, half of a red onion, half bunch of cilantro, 1/4 lemon juice, salt, pepper and about 1/2 to 1 tsp of cayenne pepper as well as a tsp of worchestire sauce. It turned out so well. Be cautious if you choose to put cayenne in it. As I was making it, it didn't taste very spicy at all so I added a bit more but as it sat in the fridge to chill, the cayenne assumed its full potential and was hot. We love spicy food and it wasn't too spicy for us at all, but wanted to tell others in case they used it and couldn't taste the flavor as they were preparing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naedwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Delicious!!!! I added 2 tablespoons of worcestershire sauce and celery salt and cayenne pepper to taste. Makes for a perfect lunch or even an appetizer when served in small portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is completely lovely! It is just perfect for any number of occasions - but especially a summer evening. The fresh vegetables make a beautiful presentation - and the flavor matches. I cut the shrimp in half to better fit in a spoon and added some hot sauce. It was served with green chili cornbread. Yum! This is a winner, I've already passed this on to friends. I have to thank Dawn again! I have made this many times. It's definitely a summer favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose G
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This recipe was SO great! I will definitely make it again. I could not use the Clamato or any other premixed clam/tomato drink because I'm allergic to MSG- so I used V8 and added a couple of handfuls of steamed clams for extra fish flavor. It was perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States