Shrimp Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This recipe was fantastic. The flavors blended incredibly well. The soup was filling, satisfying and refreshing on an uncomfortably hot summer evening. We made a half recipe for 4 of us and there was plenty left over for lunch the next day and to snack on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I could not use the Clamato Cocktail drink, so I used 24 oz. Organic tomato juice and 16 oz. clam juice. This ratio seemed right to us (I cut the recipe in half and got 6 generous portions) but we really liked the extra juice. I also added 1 TBSP Worcestershire sauce, 2 TBSP Olive Oil and Hot sauce. We also found the recipe needed more salt. I used 2 Lbs. shrimp and chopped them into bit size pieces. (Husband likes the extra protein) We enjoyed this more the next day as the onion flavor mellowed. Over all this was a huge hit. My husband was impressed with how healthy this is and my Father-in-law just enjoyed the flavors. This was a refreshing change of pace. I will make this again. - Huge hit Dawn. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Let me start by saying that I have traditionally hated most things tomato based and have never been able to stomach a glass of V8 juice. But, desperate for a summer soup, I gave this a try. It was amazing. I made some modifications including: I added some yellow peppers, some juice from a jalepeno can (per suggestion of other reviewer), season salt, lemon AND lime. ALSO, and this was the biggest thing: Clamato or whatever the bottled tomato/clam juice is in most stores has as ingredients: Water, high fructose corn syrup, tomato, blah blah blah chemicals, clam juice, in that order. I vetoed that. Instead, I used tomato juice and got an 8 ounce bottle of clam juice and combined them. I added a bit of agave to try to imitate the sweetness I imagine the canned stuff had. But, to be honest, I don't know if I'd add the agave (or that much) in the future. Maybe only a few tablespoons rather than nearly a quarter cup! Anyway, it is excellent. YUM YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
It was good. I added Valentina hot sauce, it has a wonderful flavor. I also will use half clamato and half tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I used my Cuisinart to chop everything, the texture was great, and the flavors were very full. I added some Tobasco Sauce and Lemon Pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
was great i will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this over the summer and it was delicious! Cant wait to make it again when the weather warms up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This recipe was SO great! I will definitely make it again. I could not use the Clamato or any other premixed clam/tomato drink because I'm allergic to MSG- so I used V8 and added a couple of handfuls of steamed clams for extra fish flavor. It was perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very good. A nice way to turn garden veggies into a refreshing meal. I used V-8 (will try Clamato next time), and added worchestershire sauce - but I think I'll leave out the sauce next time. Didn't have avocado, and served with a dollop of sour cream. I added a jalapeno, but will probably just use jalapeno hot sauce next time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is completely lovely! It is just perfect for any number of occasions - but especially a summer evening. The fresh vegetables make a beautiful presentation - and the flavor matches. I cut the shrimp in half to better fit in a spoon and added some hot sauce. It was served with green chili cornbread. Yum! This is a winner, I've already passed this on to friends. I have to thank Dawn again! I have made this many times. It's definitely a summer favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose G

Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States