Shrimp Fried Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I love shrimp fried rice and this is a quick and easy recipe to make - if you make the rice the night ahead! I've never had a problem with soggy rice this way - cold rice works the best. I found the original recipe too salty, so I cut the salt in half and use only 1 1/2 tablespoons of soy sauce. Everyone can always add more later to taste. Add the bean sprouts in step 3 as others have suggested. I also agree that the dish is better if the eggs are(partially) precooked. Here's what I do: When it comes time to add the eggs, move the rice/shrimp to the sides of your wok/skillet (be sure to use a large one) making a well in the middle. Pour in the eggs w/ salt and pepper, scramble after they've begun to set, and then mix with the rice/shrimp. This saves messing up another pan! (One trick I retained from another, not so good, fried rice recipe.) If you want to use small shrimp, add it later to avoid overcooking. Sometimes I substitute brown rice for white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
819 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
Absolutely delicious and easy to prepare. Very flavorful!! The only thing I would do different is add more shrimp and use less soy sauce...it was a little salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
392 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2001
This shrimp fried rice recipe was very simple to follow, a breeze to make, and makes a very flavorful dish! The recipe's simple nature allows the cook the flexibility of adding other ingredients if they so desire. In my batch of rice, I added peas, extra bean sprouts, and cooked the eggs prior to adding them to the rice. With my next batch I will saute my (yellow) onions with the uncooked rice first prior to adding the water. This will add flavor to the rice itself, and make the rice fluffier. Overall, it's a real crowd pleaser, and maintains its flavor the next day! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I made this last night and while it was good, it did not blow me away. I will make it again, but I think I will buy a wok first. When you make this, if you are using a pan used a really really large one!!!!. I did followed the recipe, but added a little 5 spice powder at the end of cooking for more flavor, also omit the extra salt, soy sauce is salty enough. Another tip (do not over cook your shrimp as you will be adding to the pan which will cook more). My shrimp came out wonderful!!!..Like everyone else I added the bean sprouts in step 3... PS USE ONLY REQUIRED AMOUNT OF SESAME OIL VERY STRONG FLAVOR. UPDATE!!!! I HAVE SINCE PURCHASE A WOK AND I TRIED THIS RECIPE AGAIN, IT WAS GREAT THIS TIME I USED A NEW TIRCK FOR THE RICE, OTHERS STATED RICE WAS SOGGY, IT'S TO MUCH TO COOK THE RICE THE NIGHT BEFORE ECT ECT. WELL MY TRICK IS TO BUY READY MADE RICE. I USED UNCLE BENS GARDEN HARVEST, IT'S READY TO USE ANY TIME FROM PACKAGE TO WOK OR PAN, AND IT ALREADY HAS PEAS IN THE RICE. AND NOW HAVING A WOK HAS MADE THIS DISH SO MUCH EASIER. MY RATING IS GOING UP FROM 4*** TO 5****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
WOW! What a busy week! I have just now had time to get to the computer! Well, this recipe made for an easy lunch...it took me apprx 20 minutes from start to finish and it was sooo good! In addition to the bean sprouts (a MUST have), I added 1 cup chopped broccoli and 1/2 cup fresh sliced mushrooms and sauted them with the onions. I also used 2 cups rice and reduced the soy sauce to 2 TBLS. Finally, I scrambled the eggs in a seperate pan. VERY delicious! This will be my shrimp fried rice recipe from here on out! Thank you, thank you Amy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This was the best fried rice recipe I have tried homemade. The taste was great, and my kids loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Really good. I would NOT recommend adding additional salt. Soy sauce is salty enough. I added mushrooms and red peppers when I added the shrimp. When adding the egg, I recommend making a well in the center of the rice so the egg has a chance to scramble before it gets blended with the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I made this recipe last night for dinner. I had shrimp thawing and couldn't decide what to make so I came to the only place for recipes...HERE. This recipe was so fast and easy. The only reason I gave it four stars was most likely my error. I used minute rice and it just seemed to me that the rice lost all it's shape and body. It became a little bit of a soft mess. Otherwise it was a great recipe. I will definately try this again...just with different rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
Doesn't get any better than this. Just like my favorite restaurant but so easy and I can control the fat and sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
Simply scrumptious and very easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States