Shrimp Fra Diavolo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This recipe needs help. But with a few minor modifications, it can be terrific. First, don't cook the shrimp separately - you're losing a lot of flavor that way. I heated up about 1 tbls of olive oil and 1/2 tbls of butter and sauteed the chopped garlic, chopped shallot (because I had it), red pepper (and I even added a little cayenne), a little basil and then the shrimp. Saute for just a couple of minutes then remove the shrimp into a separate bowl - leave garlic/everything else in the pan. Then I added the wine (a bit more than 2 Tbls) and reduced it before adding the tomatoes - here I added a touch more olive oil as well. Simmer/cook down and when ready to serve w/ pasta, add the shrimp back and cook for a couple of minutes. I put drained pasta directly into the sauce and it soaked up the sauce wonderfully. I also made only a 1/2 batch and it was enough for two meals for my husband and me. With these changes, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
A pretty good recipe- very similar to my mom's shrimp fra diavolo. My recommendation is to cook the shrimp in olive oil and a little light margarine with crushed red pepper prior to making the sauce. The shrimp just seem to soak up the spicy flavor of the red pepper infused oil. I love spicy though..... I always use cheap but relatively good red table wine (love that Concha y Toro!) and plenty of it, though if it becomes too thin you can add tomato paste. Overall, very good with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This is the beginning of a good recipe. The garlic taste was a bit too strong. Next time, I'll sautee the shrimp in the garlic, then add the garlic to the sauce to simmer. I added a little Italian Seasoning to the recipe, and that filled in the "missing flavor." I might season the shrimp just a bit, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Good, spicy, simple recipe! I added just a couple of things that turned this into a 5-star, "quick and easy" for my family - 1 pureed red bell pepper, and chopped fresh parsley and basil. The guys are loving the heat - and told me it's a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I loved this recipe and everyone I made it for couldn't get enough. I held out on using the red wine and just sauted the garlic in a pan with olive oil. I then added whole tomatoes which I cut up prior to putting in the pan. I let that all simmer while I boiled my pasta and gradually kept ading hot pepper flakes and fresh basil. I also added scallops and hot italian sausage(for that extra kick) to the sause along with the shrimp. I will definitely be making this recipe again soon! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Good start to a recipe that ended up being fabulous. I sauteed garlic and onion in evoo and then added in my shrimp and red pepper flakes. Just as the shrimp turned pink I added the sauce and a little red wine. Loved by all Margaret and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Good for such a simple recipe to prepare. Will definately make again, next time I will not use the full amount of red pepper flakes. It was a bit too spicy (and I like spicy). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
i liked this a lot BUT and it's a big BUT after i tried it for the second time with some major modifications. the first time i made it it was sooo spicy and the flavors were right and then it lacked some in other departments. i modified with using only 2 cans of diced tomatoes, 7 cloves of garlic, 1/4 tsp of basil, 1/4 tsp of cayenne, 3/4 tsp pepper flakes (i can't believe this called for 2 tsps!), and i substituted the red wine for white. i also added about 1/4 tsp of brown sugar, then sprinkled some lemon juice over it once served. it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janejones81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Wonderful! Very tomato-y. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I've made this dish several times with some changes. I use less garlic, add in basil and sometimes oregano. I use white wine instead of red. I also use a little less pepper flake but use one can of regular tomatoes and one with diced chilis. I've had several rave reviews from friends who've had it here. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States