Shrimp Fra Diavolo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Wonderful! Very tomato-y. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
It was really yummy (so says my girlfriend...oh...and me too). Bought extra shrimp and had some cocktail sauce, so had a good excuse for an appetizer. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
Missing something, possibly basil. Still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This is the beginning of a good recipe. The garlic taste was a bit too strong. Next time, I'll sautee the shrimp in the garlic, then add the garlic to the sauce to simmer. I added a little Italian Seasoning to the recipe, and that filled in the "missing flavor." I might season the shrimp just a bit, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Good for such a simple recipe to prepare. Will definately make again, next time I will not use the full amount of red pepper flakes. It was a bit too spicy (and I like spicy). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Very tasty. I used the tomatoes with jalapenos, and it was quite spicy, but delicious! Great for the sinuses! I also added the shrimp to the simmering sauce when it had about 2 minutes left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This was incredibly bland. The ingredients all sounded really good... but the finished product was completely blah. Sorry, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I've made this dish several times with some changes. I use less garlic, add in basil and sometimes oregano. I use white wine instead of red. I also use a little less pepper flake but use one can of regular tomatoes and one with diced chilis. I've had several rave reviews from friends who've had it here. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This recipe was very tasty but too powerful for my taste ( and I do like spicy food ). What is the taste of this recipe? HOT! Maybe, using all the pepper flakes was a bad idea. I recommend trying this recipe a little more on the mild side at first and then see what your taste buds can handle as "heat". Yes, this recipe could be very good if a little tamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
A pretty good recipe- very similar to my mom's shrimp fra diavolo. My recommendation is to cook the shrimp in olive oil and a little light margarine with crushed red pepper prior to making the sauce. The shrimp just seem to soak up the spicy flavor of the red pepper infused oil. I love spicy though..... I always use cheap but relatively good red table wine (love that Concha y Toro!) and plenty of it, though if it becomes too thin you can add tomato paste. Overall, very good with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States