Shrimp Fra Diavolo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I followed Jasmine's recommendations, and this was fantastic. Spicy, healthy and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Very delicious my family loved it! I followed a combination of other reviewer's recommendations. I used penne instread of linguini and used sour cream and some flour to thicken the sauce, didn't hold back on the crushed red pepper and added paprika and garlic powder. I used half of the garlic to saute shrimp, butter, parsley and some more red pepper and paprika. Came out spicy but just right! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I've been making this for years, but I make a smaller batch, using only the diced tomatoes. My kids don't eat real food, but if they ever start. I'll add in the crushed tomatoes to make the larger batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Very good recipe, nice bite to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I loved this recipe and everyone I made it for couldn't get enough. I held out on using the red wine and just sauted the garlic in a pan with olive oil. I then added whole tomatoes which I cut up prior to putting in the pan. I let that all simmer while I boiled my pasta and gradually kept ading hot pepper flakes and fresh basil. I also added scallops and hot italian sausage(for that extra kick) to the sause along with the shrimp. I will definitely be making this recipe again soon! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Saw this on Giada's site. Very easy and good. As suggested, cook shrimp a bit in olive oil and red pepper for extra flavor --add when complete. I use the Costco frozen shrimp and this becomes a very quick, easy meal the whole family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
simple, easy, and tasty ... perfect Sunday evening meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wadena, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This is a good recipe. Per other reviewers' suggestions, I added Italian seasonings to the sauce along with the garlic. Skipped the wine because I don't keep it on hand. Very tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I just whipped up this easy meal. I altered the recipe a bit. I didnt have any red wine on hand so I substituted that ingredient with balsamic vinegar. And instead of crushed pepper flakes, I used the seeds and juice of 1 cherry pepper then chopped the pepper and sauted it in with the garlic. I also added sundried tomatoes...it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I followed some of the instructions that Jasmine posted in her review, and this turned out really good! I'm a beginner cook, so I didn't know that making a tasty tomato/wine sauce was so easy. I didn't have to measure anything, I just estimated how much I would need for 4 servings. I'm sure the way I made it isn't the best way, but I'll post my process and ingredients for reference: First, I heated about 1 tbs of olive oil and a sliver of butter in the pan on medium heat. I put in 4 chopped cloves of garlic, 1/2 onion, 1/2 lb shrimp (halved, tails removed), and some spices (salt, pepper, parsley, basil, chili powder, generic spicy rib/chicken seasoning). When the shrimp was almost done, I took them out and added the red wine. I had a few frozen cubes that probably added up to a few tbs. I kept it on medium until most of the liquid was gone, then I added a can of diced tomatoes and the other 1/2 onion. Simmered for 20 mins, then re-added the shrimp, some ketchup (the sauce was a bit tart), and about 1/2 cup of pasta water and simmered for another 10. I only had spaghetti, so I went with it. The sauce turned out almost brown, so I was a little unsure at first, but I liked it more than any jarred sauce I've had. It was a little tart with a spicy aftertaste. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foperators

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States