Shrimp Fra Diavolo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
mmm mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Good, spicy, simple recipe! I added just a couple of things that turned this into a 5-star, "quick and easy" for my family - 1 pureed red bell pepper, and chopped fresh parsley and basil. The guys are loving the heat - and told me it's a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Good start to a recipe that ended up being fabulous. I sauteed garlic and onion in evoo and then added in my shrimp and red pepper flakes. Just as the shrimp turned pink I added the sauce and a little red wine. Loved by all Margaret and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Very good recipe, nice bite to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This recipe needs help. But with a few minor modifications, it can be terrific. First, don't cook the shrimp separately - you're losing a lot of flavor that way. I heated up about 1 tbls of olive oil and 1/2 tbls of butter and sauteed the chopped garlic, chopped shallot (because I had it), red pepper (and I even added a little cayenne), a little basil and then the shrimp. Saute for just a couple of minutes then remove the shrimp into a separate bowl - leave garlic/everything else in the pan. Then I added the wine (a bit more than 2 Tbls) and reduced it before adding the tomatoes - here I added a touch more olive oil as well. Simmer/cook down and when ready to serve w/ pasta, add the shrimp back and cook for a couple of minutes. I put drained pasta directly into the sauce and it soaked up the sauce wonderfully. I also made only a 1/2 batch and it was enough for two meals for my husband and me. With these changes, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
A pretty good recipe- very similar to my mom's shrimp fra diavolo. My recommendation is to cook the shrimp in olive oil and a little light margarine with crushed red pepper prior to making the sauce. The shrimp just seem to soak up the spicy flavor of the red pepper infused oil. I love spicy though..... I always use cheap but relatively good red table wine (love that Concha y Toro!) and plenty of it, though if it becomes too thin you can add tomato paste. Overall, very good with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This recipe was very tasty but too powerful for my taste ( and I do like spicy food ). What is the taste of this recipe? HOT! Maybe, using all the pepper flakes was a bad idea. I recommend trying this recipe a little more on the mild side at first and then see what your taste buds can handle as "heat". Yes, this recipe could be very good if a little tamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I've made this dish several times with some changes. I use less garlic, add in basil and sometimes oregano. I use white wine instead of red. I also use a little less pepper flake but use one can of regular tomatoes and one with diced chilis. I've had several rave reviews from friends who've had it here. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This was incredibly bland. The ingredients all sounded really good... but the finished product was completely blah. Sorry, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Very tasty. I used the tomatoes with jalapenos, and it was quite spicy, but delicious! Great for the sinuses! I also added the shrimp to the simmering sauce when it had about 2 minutes left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States