Shrimp Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I added swiss cheese, an extra can of soup, old bay seasoning, extra worcestershire, a couple squirts of hot sauce & a can of tiny shrimp although I wish I had used larger shrimp. Served it w/ a salad & soaked it up w/ buttered & toasted ciabatta bread. Yum!!! It was very much like the shrimp fondue I have had @ Salt Grass steakhouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This brought rave reviews from my dinner party! The differences I made were (1) I didn't have c. of shrimp and couln't find @ store, so I added 1/2 cup heavy cream and 3/4 minced shrimp & crawfish (leftover from the crawfish boil the night before.) (2) I added about a cup of shredded parmesan. (3) I added paprika and cayenne (4) I only added 8 oz. sour cream (got that hint from the previous reviews.) (5) I added about 3-4 tbsp of lea & perrins. Okay so I made several changes, but it turned out fabulous. I baked in oven after heating to give slight crusty top at 375 for 15 mins. It was bubby, shrimp, cheesy goodness! Went EXTRA well with fresh crusty french bread! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBURDICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
I was suprised to read the bad reviews this recipe received. I have a similar recipe but it calls for horseradish - maybe that's what this recipe was missing in flavor. The only problem I have had with this recipe is the cream of shrimp soup is sometimes difficult to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
This recipe tasted horrible, It was way too sour with 32 oz. of sour cream. I even added sugar just to make it edible. If I started with 16 oz. it might have tased a bit better. Way too expensive to throw out, which is what I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
Absolutely loved this recipe. The hubby and I really were surprised at how good it was. I did tweak it up a bit. I added scallops and some shrimp to the fondue as well as some Gouda cheese (just a thick slice) in order to get some cheesy flavor...which we love. It turned out absolutely wonderful...plan on making this many times in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This sounded good, but it was horrible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I would make this dip again, but tweak it a bit. I wouldn't add as much sour cream next time and I might throw in some salad shrimp or something like that for texture, and to add to the flavor. It is very mild. My family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is a good starter recipe, but needs help! We added fresh crab & shrimp Used cream of mushroom soup instead of the cream of shrimp Added Old Bay seasoning, onion salt, more garlic salt and worcestershire. Also added shredded italian blend cheese. Bought cheddar garlic bread from the bakery, tore it into bite size chunks and baked it (around 350) to make it crispy. Add a touch of tender loving care and be creative this is a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I made a changes to this but it was awesome!! I used 2 cans of cream of shrimp (which i did not even know they made) added old bay, a splash of tabasco, 1lb of velveta,2lbs of shrimp about a cup of spinach, then I cooked some fresh mushrooms in butter and fresh garlic and poured it in, also added about a cup of grated swiss, served it with both french and sourdough bread some toasted some not. it was awesome, this is our families favorite dish when we go out and this was better than all we have had! next time I might add some other shell fish lobster maybe, it made alot, we have a family of 10 and it would have served twice that happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I tried this recipe last winter and wasn't impressed. However, when I revisited the reviews today, I thought I'd try it again. I cut both the sour cream and cream cheese in half. I added a dash of paprika, 1/4 tsp Old Bay, and 8 oz. salad shrimp. The other reviewers offered these good suggestions! To give it a cheesy fondue taste, I ALSO added 1 cup fresh shredded Parmesan cheese. I served it with a multigrain french baguette. My family liked it much better than the last time I made it. It would be a good appetizer... It's not so good as a main fondue dish for dinner, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States