Shrimp Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Based on the reviews, I rigged it too. ½ the sour cream, all the cream cheese, 2 cans of cream of shrimp (found at WalMart), 1 bag of Sharp Cheddar, ½ cup Parmesan (container kind), 1 can portabello mushrooms, 1 bag extra small shrimp (100 count), 2 tsp minced garlic, 3 tsp Old Bay, 5 dashes Worcester, 1 tsp ground mustard and 1 shake Tony’s creole seasoning. 350 on the fondue maker….Just as good as the Pappadeaux fondue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
it was horrible. Way too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
For the previous reviewer, you should only have added 16 oz of sour cream. Wonderful recipe, I put it in individual margarita glasses & hung large shrimp on the outside with bread/peppers on a side plate. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This was a bit too sour for my taste without much shrimp flavor. However, I'm not giving up on the idea of a creamy shrimp fondue. I think next time I will try one of the tweaks, adding more worchestershire, a little hot sauce, and a can of shrimp, as well as reducing the sour cream. It wasn't bad - peole liked it - but it wasn't as flavorful as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is a good starter recipe, but needs help! We added fresh crab & shrimp Used cream of mushroom soup instead of the cream of shrimp Added Old Bay seasoning, onion salt, more garlic salt and worcestershire. Also added shredded italian blend cheese. Bought cheddar garlic bread from the bakery, tore it into bite size chunks and baked it (around 350) to make it crispy. Add a touch of tender loving care and be creative this is a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I made a changes to this but it was awesome!! I used 2 cans of cream of shrimp (which i did not even know they made) added old bay, a splash of tabasco, 1lb of velveta,2lbs of shrimp about a cup of spinach, then I cooked some fresh mushrooms in butter and fresh garlic and poured it in, also added about a cup of grated swiss, served it with both french and sourdough bread some toasted some not. it was awesome, this is our families favorite dish when we go out and this was better than all we have had! next time I might add some other shell fish lobster maybe, it made alot, we have a family of 10 and it would have served twice that happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This brought rave reviews from my dinner party! The differences I made were (1) I didn't have c. of shrimp and couln't find @ store, so I added 1/2 cup heavy cream and 3/4 minced shrimp & crawfish (leftover from the crawfish boil the night before.) (2) I added about a cup of shredded parmesan. (3) I added paprika and cayenne (4) I only added 8 oz. sour cream (got that hint from the previous reviews.) (5) I added about 3-4 tbsp of lea & perrins. Okay so I made several changes, but it turned out fabulous. I baked in oven after heating to give slight crusty top at 375 for 15 mins. It was bubby, shrimp, cheesy goodness! Went EXTRA well with fresh crusty french bread! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBURDICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
very very delicious, My friends and I had this for Valentines day, very filling. It was more of an appitizer it seemed like it for it was so rich that we ate alot at first but went more into the other foods later.... I also added immitation crab to it. but will make again.. even if not for fondue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I tried this recipe last winter and wasn't impressed. However, when I revisited the reviews today, I thought I'd try it again. I cut both the sour cream and cream cheese in half. I added a dash of paprika, 1/4 tsp Old Bay, and 8 oz. salad shrimp. The other reviewers offered these good suggestions! To give it a cheesy fondue taste, I ALSO added 1 cup fresh shredded Parmesan cheese. I served it with a multigrain french baguette. My family liked it much better than the last time I made it. It would be a good appetizer... It's not so good as a main fondue dish for dinner, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
As it is, this recipe might be bland. I used half the sour cream, added 1/4 cup dry white wine, 3/4 tsp Old Bay, 1 and 1/2 tsp fresh garlic instead of powder, a few dashes of hot sauce, some paprika, and a bag of salad shrimp. It was delicious, and even my very picky husband (who doesn't like cream cheese, sour cream, or swiss cheese) devoured it. I can't wait to try it with scallops or over pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States