Shrimp Etoufee III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
man, this stuff was great -- took a little while and as with most soups and etoufees, it gets better the longer you cook it. it was perfect and pretty easy to cook. congrats to Ronnie B from all of my friends and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
I have to say this is the best. A cajun restaurant closed last year and they had the best shrimp etoufee I had ever had. This is identical. I made it for my girlfriends and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I had my inlaws over for a Mardi Gras Dinner and we all loved this dish. I ended up using chicken broth instead of water and also made 1/2 of it with chicken and the other 1/2 shrimp. Both versions turned out great. It goes great over rice. Will definitely be making again in the near future. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Absolutely fantastic!! I used to make shrimp etoufee from a mix that a friend of mine from Louisiana introduced me too. He said it tasted just like authentic etoufee from "the big easy". Since the Army moved my husband and I to Hawaii, I've been unable to find the mix. I've had a terrible craving for it, so I decided to try to find a recipe. This was as good if not better than the mix, and I was sooo proud of myself for making it from scratch. It really hit the spot...thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Use your common sense when scaling this recipe for less servings. I scaled to 4 and it didn't seem to differ much from the original recipe for 12. Overall this is a great recipe, I served it over noodles and everyone loved it. Is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELY C.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Made this for a dinner gathering and everyone had seconds! So simple and so delicious! I added more mushrooms and a little fresh parsley.Unlike a lot of seafood dishes that don't taste good reheated, my husband said this etoufee was better the next day! I will make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This was a FANTASTIC recipe! I actually added about 1 tsp. more cornstarch and also a diced jalepeno to add more heat as my family enjoys spicy food, but it definitely got rave reviews! It's also one of those dishes that gets better the next day and it reheated very well. My family will be moving to Louisiana next spring and I've been looking for some great cajun recipes - this is one I'll be proud to serve down in "the big easy"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This recipe was pretty good. It tastes a lot like Jumbalaya. It just looks different. I added a bit more red pepper and added some cajun seasoning. It was a bit too spicy for me but everyone else loved it. It went very well with noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
A little involved preparation, but rewarding with incredibly delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I made this on a day that it snowed over a foot. After 2 hours of shoveling and digging out I came in and had this, It was the perfect way to warm up. The broth was sweet from the peppers and onions and there was a slight heat from the red pepper. Absolutely fantastic. Will definitely make it again, especially when I want to warm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States