Shrimp Etoufee III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I didn't make this to the proportion given in the recipe because I didn't have enough shrimp but it still tasted AMAZING! I added frozen okra because I love vegetables and since I was serving it on rice, I used the water from cleaning the rice instead of plain water. I also took another reviewer's advice and used chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mieshka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
was very good, i added paprika, aome rotel and scallops, turned out amazing UPDATE: it was better the second day... HEAVENLY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wormosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Tasty! Followed recommendations to make a roux and add veggies. Also, used half amt of butter. Also added tsp. chicken boullion granules to water. Kids enjoyed as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was a super easy meal to impress the family. I doubled the vegetables and added half a can of tomato paste and chicken broth instead of water, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbaleelou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brandenburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
My husband liked it. I, on the other hand, wasn't a big fan. It's just not what I was expecting. It was just alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Good basic etouffee. I'm from Baton Rouge, LA, so a few changes are necessary to make it authentic. The main change is to make a roux (flour browned in oil) instead of using cornstarch. Cornstarch changes the texture, and also does not add the deep flavor a roux does. The other change is more minor - butter instead of margarine, and also the amount cut to one stick of butter. I've made it with two sticks, and it is unnecessary. Still, a good recipe nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeopardMoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I made this recipe recently, with a few necessary changes: Add an amount of flour equal to the amount of butter (1 cup in the original recipe) to the butter over medium heat for about 20 minutes (and the mixture is the color of peanut butter), stirring contantly, before adding the celery, pepper and onion. This forms a roux, the essential building block of etoufee. I'd also add 1/2 cup white wine and a good amount (3 tablespoons+) of Tabasco or Crystal hot sauce. Garnish with thinly sliced green onions and serve with garlic bread. Making these quick changes to the recipe results in a 5 star recipe that's much closer to the real deal in Louisiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This recipe is delicious. I made it for the first time tonight and my wife really loved it. I used chicken broth instead of water. I also added just a smidgen of fresh ground ginger and garlic to give it some zing. I served it over jasmine rice. The kitchen smelled Cajun by the time I was done. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I loved this recipe! I only used a total of 1/2 cup margarine to lower the fat content, but it was still great! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States