Shrimp Etoufee III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
The only reason I'm not rating it a 5 is because my first attempt was a disaster! It says after you add in the celery and peppers to turn the heat up to high and stir occasionally. I ended up burning them so badly that they were black and stuck to my pan, my smoke alarm went off, and even with all the windows open, it still took a few hours to "dehaze" my house. The next time, I only turned it to the low side of med-high, and it still almost burned, and I had to stir it a LOT! But, in the end, it tasted AMAZING and we all loved it!! It was really easy, and the outcome was delicious! Its worth the effort, I would just recommend not turning the heat up past med-high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Really good recipie. Turned out great with a few modifications. I made a shrimp stock first and used that instead of water. I also added a can of white crab meat too. Only thing I would change is the amount of celery. I think it was a tad bit too much, but then again I am not a huge fan of celery either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
My husband doesn't like cajun food, so I told him it was "spicy shrimp". He loved it! Easy to make. Didn't change the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This turned out wonderful. EXACTLY like my Mississippi in-laws recipe that I could never seem to get right by their directions. I scaled back the recipe for 5. I added more corn starch than called for... it was a bit soupy at first but adding about 1 1/2 tsp more made it just the right consistency. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Fantastic! The whole family loved this one. Even my 6 yr old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This recipe was very good. I cut the recipe in half, substituted potatoe starch for corn starch (all I had on hand) and added a bay leaf and 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce. Wife and kids loved it. I'm having leftovers tomorrow for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I had never had this dish before but I will definitely make again! It was so good! I cut it back to 4 serving since it's just two of us. I was a little nervous on how this was going to turn out...since I had cut the serving back it only called for 1/3 cup of butter but in the directions it says to add 1/2 cup of butter in the beginning and then another 1/2 cup later on so I wasn't sure how much to add....ended up just sticking with the 1/3 cup and adding half at a time and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN201

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Simply heavenly, resteraunt quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My Hubby liked and that's all that matters!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Absolutely wonderful. I worked at Joe's Crab Shack for awhile, and this tasted exactly like their crawfish etoufee. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States