Shrimp Etoufee III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This was very very good! Next time I make it I will change a few things. It had way to much butter in it. I would make a roux to cook the onions, bell pepper and celery in then you would not need the cornstarch. And with the roux you don't need 2 sticks of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This is the first time I have made shrimp etoufee. The recipe was absolutely delicious. I used butter instead of margarine, chicken broth instead of water, and doubled the amount of cornstarch because I wanted a thicker consistency. My husband and I loved it. Thanks for the recipe Ronnie. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
The only reason I'm not rating it a 5 is because my first attempt was a disaster! It says after you add in the celery and peppers to turn the heat up to high and stir occasionally. I ended up burning them so badly that they were black and stuck to my pan, my smoke alarm went off, and even with all the windows open, it still took a few hours to "dehaze" my house. The next time, I only turned it to the low side of med-high, and it still almost burned, and I had to stir it a LOT! But, in the end, it tasted AMAZING and we all loved it!! It was really easy, and the outcome was delicious! Its worth the effort, I would just recommend not turning the heat up past med-high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Good basic etouffee. I'm from Baton Rouge, LA, so a few changes are necessary to make it authentic. The main change is to make a roux (flour browned in oil) instead of using cornstarch. Cornstarch changes the texture, and also does not add the deep flavor a roux does. The other change is more minor - butter instead of margarine, and also the amount cut to one stick of butter. I've made it with two sticks, and it is unnecessary. Still, a good recipe nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeopardMoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This was a FANTASTIC recipe! I actually added about 1 tsp. more cornstarch and also a diced jalepeno to add more heat as my family enjoys spicy food, but it definitely got rave reviews! It's also one of those dishes that gets better the next day and it reheated very well. My family will be moving to Louisiana next spring and I've been looking for some great cajun recipes - this is one I'll be proud to serve down in "the big easy"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Made this for a dinner gathering and everyone had seconds! So simple and so delicious! I added more mushrooms and a little fresh parsley.Unlike a lot of seafood dishes that don't taste good reheated, my husband said this etoufee was better the next day! I will make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I had never had this dish before but I will definitely make again! It was so good! I cut it back to 4 serving since it's just two of us. I was a little nervous on how this was going to turn out...since I had cut the serving back it only called for 1/3 cup of butter but in the directions it says to add 1/2 cup of butter in the beginning and then another 1/2 cup later on so I wasn't sure how much to add....ended up just sticking with the 1/3 cup and adding half at a time and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN201

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I had my inlaws over for a Mardi Gras Dinner and we all loved this dish. I ended up using chicken broth instead of water and also made 1/2 of it with chicken and the other 1/2 shrimp. Both versions turned out great. It goes great over rice. Will definitely be making again in the near future. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
man, this stuff was great -- took a little while and as with most soups and etoufees, it gets better the longer you cook it. it was perfect and pretty easy to cook. congrats to Ronnie B from all of my friends and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I used butter instead of margarine. I used banana peppers instead of bell peppers (that’s what I had in my garden). I chopped the celery instead of slicing it. I cooked the onions in butter then added the celery and peppers then more butter. When all were soft, I added ½ cup of water and the shrimp. Instead of corn starch, while the shrimp were cooking, I made a roux with butter and flour and used chicken broth instead of water. When the shrimp were nearly done, I added the chicken broth gravy and cooked over medium heat until it reached the right consistency (probably 10 more minutes beyond the 20 minutes in the original recipe. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States