Shrimp Etoufee III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
The only reason I'm not rating it a 5 is because my first attempt was a disaster! It says after you add in the celery and peppers to turn the heat up to high and stir occasionally. I ended up burning them so badly that they were black and stuck to my pan, my smoke alarm went off, and even with all the windows open, it still took a few hours to "dehaze" my house. The next time, I only turned it to the low side of med-high, and it still almost burned, and I had to stir it a LOT! But, in the end, it tasted AMAZING and we all loved it!! It was really easy, and the outcome was delicious! Its worth the effort, I would just recommend not turning the heat up past med-high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Really good recipie. Turned out great with a few modifications. I made a shrimp stock first and used that instead of water. I also added a can of white crab meat too. Only thing I would change is the amount of celery. I think it was a tad bit too much, but then again I am not a huge fan of celery either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
My husband doesn't like cajun food, so I told him it was "spicy shrimp". He loved it! Easy to make. Didn't change the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This turned out wonderful. EXACTLY like my Mississippi in-laws recipe that I could never seem to get right by their directions. I scaled back the recipe for 5. I added more corn starch than called for... it was a bit soupy at first but adding about 1 1/2 tsp more made it just the right consistency. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Fantastic! The whole family loved this one. Even my 6 yr old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This recipe was very good. I cut the recipe in half, substituted potatoe starch for corn starch (all I had on hand) and added a bay leaf and 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce. Wife and kids loved it. I'm having leftovers tomorrow for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I had never had this dish before but I will definitely make again! It was so good! I cut it back to 4 serving since it's just two of us. I was a little nervous on how this was going to turn out...since I had cut the serving back it only called for 1/3 cup of butter but in the directions it says to add 1/2 cup of butter in the beginning and then another 1/2 cup later on so I wasn't sure how much to add....ended up just sticking with the 1/3 cup and adding half at a time and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN201

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Simply heavenly, resteraunt quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My Hubby liked and that's all that matters!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Absolutely wonderful. I worked at Joe's Crab Shack for awhile, and this tasted exactly like their crawfish etoufee. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States