Shrimp Etoufee III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This was a delicious meal. I server id with basmati brown rice and it was a hit with everyone, even my picky 22 year old daughter! The only change I made was to use chicken broth and add some extra cornstarch to try to thicken it some. I think I would use less broth/water next. BTW - I used XL shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
SO SO GOOD YOU HAVE TO TRY THIS IT MADE ME THINK ABOUT GUMBO I AM FROM NEW ORLEANS LA AND THIS TASTED JUST LIKE HOME AND LIKE I WAS SAYING I WISH I COULD HAVE GIVEN IT MORE STARS. THANK SO MUCH FOR A EASY AND VERY GOOD RECIPE MY FAMILY LOVE IT.....TERRY137
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
yummy! I have made this a couple of times and my husband can not wait until I make it again. thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
As far as Etouffee goes, this is probably a good recipe but we thought the flavor of this dish was just ok. I will most likely go ahead and make a Jambalya next time so that the Cajun seasonings can perk it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This is the first time I have made shrimp etoufee. The recipe was absolutely delicious. I used butter instead of margarine, chicken broth instead of water, and doubled the amount of cornstarch because I wanted a thicker consistency. My husband and I loved it. Thanks for the recipe Ronnie. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Absolutely wonderful recipe..I made a few alterations. I omitted the celery and I used chicken boullion base to mix with the water that was required. Turned out absolutely perfect. My fiance almost ate the whole pot and hid the rest in the back of the fridge so that no one would get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi Lareux

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuskegee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I should of cut the butter- will try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Flavor is outstanding (even better the day after). I made 2 changes: I used half shrimp and half crawdads, and used butter instead of margarine. It was Dee-lish. However, the recipe as written is a little soupy for our tastes; we prefer a sturdier etouffee.. (but it was nothing a little extra cornstarch or wondra couldn't remedy). I think I AT LEAST doubled the amount of cornstarch for a thicker consistency. A highly recommended recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This was very very good! Next time I make it I will change a few things. It had way to much butter in it. I would make a roux to cook the onions, bell pepper and celery in then you would not need the cornstarch. And with the roux you don't need 2 sticks of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States