Shrimp Etoufee III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jennette
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
My first attempt at etoufee and I was pleased. It doesn't look very appetizing, but it's a tastey and filling meal. I halved the recipe and added brown rice. The butter flavor was too much for me so I will be sure to use less next time... it's really not necessary. The kids enjoyed it (which was a shocker to me), I'm sure that I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I have to admit, I was skeptical that this was going to turn out well, but it was great! I used broth instead of water. A word of caution to anyone who, like me, was scaling this down to 4 or so servings... you really don't need to cook the pepper/onion/celery mixture for 20 mins. Maybe more like 12. And then after you put in the shrimp, broth, and cornstarch, you probably only need another 5 mins (or less!) of cooking for this dish to be done. It's great served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Really good. Mine was not a pretty brown like the pic but it tasted good. I added garlic, a little lemon and some white wine (1/4 cup). Its a keeper. I may try a roux next time instead of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
not for us...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was very good. I made some changes though. I made it for 4 instead of 10 servings. Used a can of diced chiles instead of green pepper, added a can of black beans, and used beef broth (it's what I had) instead of water. It had chowder-y taste but was less creamy. Overall very good, I would make it again and would add some rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
very, very good. However I did change it just a bit. Added chicken boulion instead of water. And don't turn it on high to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
It was ok...It had a funny texture to me. But it tasted fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
The changes I made in this recipe were to roast the bell peppers before adding them to the mix, and adding three cloves of garlic to the onions. The resulting dish was delicious, and though I missed the dark roux flavor in traditional etoufee, I will make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Totally awesome! My family loves it. I also made this dish for a luncheon at work back in February and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Incredibly rich and delicious. My boyfriend actually said, "This is a 5-star meal!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States