Shrimp Embrochette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I thought the stuffing was kind of boring. I might try again using less bread crumbs and more cheese and crabmeat for more flavor. Also found it difficult to get the stuffing to stay in the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
The ingredients I originally wrote down originally are off a little, I guess they were edited out. I don't ususally use a can of crabmeat, I like to finely shred a big handful of immitation crab meat, or use both if you like, one can isn't enough, and I definately don't use a whole jalepeno, half is plenty. Don't forget to add some old bay or other favorite seasonings either! Put whatever you like in the stuffing, just as long as it holds together in a small clump stuffed inside the butterflied shrimp. This stuff is also excellent when warmed up the next day in the microwave. Julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Followed recipe exactly and it was wonderful! Next time I will bakee on a roasting pan or a rack to let some of the bacon drippings drain. Leftovers were outstanding while the eflavors of thee stuffing had gotten stronger- I may make the stuffing early next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was amazing. Needed a little tweaking though. I whisked together 1 egg and added half of it to the filling to help bind it together. I used Jumbo Prawns and seasoned them with Old Bay. I also cooked the Bacon in the microwave for 1 minute before wrapping around the Prawns so that the Prawns wouldn't overcook before the Bacon was done. I held it all together with toothpicks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICEPIRATE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I made this as an appetizer, doubled the recipe and served it to about 25 people! It was a HUGE success and was gone in about 10 minutes. I made it again for about 6 of us (not doubling the recipe), but forgot the crab meat so I supplemented with extra shrimp. It was just as tasty! I went a little heavy on the salt to taste and added a little extra garlic salt, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Everyone loves these shrimp This was the best I ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doc Simonson
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I wish I had read the original author's review before making these! I went exactly by the recipe and it was a bit bland. For me, thick cut bacon was unnecessary. The thinner bacon crisps more easily than thick cut. Having been all negative, I won't hesitate making them again with the addition of Old Bay seasoning. My guess is that it will really perk this up a lot! The filling does seem a bit dry, but maybe a bit of wine or brandy would help with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I had the shrimp lined up and ready to go in the oven when my husband came home. He looked at that and said he hoped Rabbi Keller wasn't coming for dinner!! I told him it was cool, I used Kosher salt. LOL OK, all kidding aside, these little chunks of heaven will kill any seafood craving you might have. The only change I made was sprinkling a little Old Bay over the top. Serve them with those scrumpy garlic cheese biscuits, like the one's from Red Lobster, a side of rice pilaf and you got yourself a meal to be very proud of!! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States