Shrimp Egg Foo Yung Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This came out soooo gooood! The mixture came out a bit watery so I added cornstarch like someone suggested and the patties came out denser and firmer. My family raved about them and the leftovers the next day was even better. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
I made another egg foo yung recipe but used the sauce from this recipe. Though I can't comment on the egg foo yung, the sauce was terrific--one I will use for many other dishes when I need a delicious gravy or sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Simply DELICIOUS! The sauce is wonderfully flavorful and the soy sauce is not over powering the flavors as some sauces do. I left out the extra salt as I don't like super salty foods but it is still plenty salty because of the Soy Sauce and what is added to canned broth. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
These were good, they make a healthly lunch or dinner. I added a little cornstarch to the eggs as another reviewer suggested, but they still ran a little. I also added a lot of extra soy sauce to the gravy because I like it that way. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
This deserevs 10 stars. I grew up in Chicago and this is the way my favorite resturant made egg foo young. I moved to CA and can't find egg foo young like this anywhere. I am so glad you posted this. Now I can have egg foo young no matter where I live. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I 'm going to rate this one actually a 3.75 :-) I think it does need some more tweaking but is a good start. I added in some more veggies and garlic and a bit of cornstarch to the egg mixture. I also used egg beaters from a carton rather than whole eggs. The eggs still do spread out to fill the whole pan, but if you wait for them to cook a little, you can smoosh/ fold the eggs into piles and make nice looking egg foo yung patties. The sauce needs a lot of seasoning help IMHO. I added some garlic and a dash of honey and liked it much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made this recipe, upon my husbands request. Our family of 5 loved it! I omitted the bean sprouts(didn't have any)and the salt from both the eggs and sauce. I used ham rather than shrimp, only because I'm prego and can't have 'em. If mamma can't have 'em, nobody can have 'em!! I did add just a bit more soy sauce to gravy, as well as a bit more cornstarch. I used olive oil rather than vegetable oil. Served over rice and had the perfect meal! I'll certainly be making again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The egg patties were really good, but I thought the sauce tasted odd. I might have put too much pepper in, though. I'll try this again sometime. Edited Later: I tried this again a couple times, and it came out much better. A substitution NOT to make: vegetable broth for the chicken broth. This is one of the few instances where they are not interchangeable (it tastes awful).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
one word - DELICIOUS!!! truly wonderful and the whole family loves em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Very good recipe, but you do NOT need the extra salt in the gravy. The sodium from the chicken broth and the soy sauce is quite sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockbourne, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States