Shrimp Egg Foo Yung Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Tasted better than some of shrimp egg foo young from Chinese restaurants. Thumbs up from my Thai aunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Yum! I used fresh mushrooms, no shrimp. Excellent basic recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Very good recipe, but you do NOT need the extra salt in the gravy. The sodium from the chicken broth and the soy sauce is quite sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockbourne, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The egg patties were really good, but I thought the sauce tasted odd. I might have put too much pepper in, though. I'll try this again sometime. Edited Later: I tried this again a couple times, and it came out much better. A substitution NOT to make: vegetable broth for the chicken broth. This is one of the few instances where they are not interchangeable (it tastes awful).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
one word - DELICIOUS!!! truly wonderful and the whole family loves em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I absolutely loved this! Instead of the green onions, I added a chopped white onion. My sauce, unfortunately, ended up with big lumps of cornstarch...likely my fault as I probably added the cornstarch/water too quickly. I did leave the additional salt out of the sauce as I thought the soy sauce would be sufficient. The patties turned out perfectly, nice and dense and full of flavour. I was able to use some of the sauce and it was thick and delicious. I can't wait to make more today. Definitely a recipe woth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made this recipe, upon my husbands request. Our family of 5 loved it! I omitted the bean sprouts(didn't have any)and the salt from both the eggs and sauce. I used ham rather than shrimp, only because I'm prego and can't have 'em. If mamma can't have 'em, nobody can have 'em!! I did add just a bit more soy sauce to gravy, as well as a bit more cornstarch. I used olive oil rather than vegetable oil. Served over rice and had the perfect meal! I'll certainly be making again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Yummo! It was so good. This dish takes me back to my childhood. It was my dad's favorite Chinese dish. He would love the flavor in this. I did add canned shrimp juice to my gravy. This dish did not need no added salt as recipe required. I added a tbsp of cornstarch and deleted all the oil. used nonstick pan and medium-low heat with lid. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
A solid recipe that I will make again. My 17 year old son raved about these and requested I make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auggie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
These were very good. Next time I will add more onion. My sauce turned out like sauce...not like gravy but it still added a nice flavor to them. The bean sprouts were good in these cuz they didn't have that really earthy flavor. I will def make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States